Monthly Archives July 2019

New Playaway Launchpads

We just added over 30 new Playaway Launchpads to the Trove's collection. The new ones are in two types – video content (blue Launchpads) and apps (orange Launchpads) on various themes. We added several that are language-learning focused (ESL, learning Spanish, and learning Chinese), STEM concepts, and early literacy. Every Playaway Launchpad is pre-loaded with high-quality, ad-free learning apps and games, providing hours of interactive learning and play. Apps are grouped onto Launchpads by subject area, theme, grade level, and age. Featuring popular characters and brands, apps content spans subject areas from math and science to critical thinking and creativity,
Read More

Categories: eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage, Kids, and Library News.

One Book, One White Plains

This post has expired. For the latest information on One Book, One White Plains and to register for a pop-up discussion group, visit this post. We are excited to announce that Everything I Never Told You, by Celeste Ng, has been selected as our choice for One Book, One White Plains. A moving exploration of family, history and the meaning of home, Everything I Never Told You is both a gripping page-turner and an examination of the rifts that keep us apart. “One Book, One White Plains is an opportunity for White Plains residents of all backgrounds to come together
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Director's Corner, eNewsletter, and Events.

Donations for Children & Teen Events

The Trove and Edge are asking for donations of items to be used in their upcoming programs. All items need to be in good condition. Donations can be brought to the Trove any time during our hours of operation. Items needed: Barbies, Kens, and similar sized dolls, as well as doll clothes that fit those dolls Matchbox or Hot Wheels type cars Action Figures – any kind Board Games and RPG manuals Construx, Mega Blox, KNEX, always accepting LEGOs
Read More

Categories: eNewsletter, Events, Evergreen, Featured, Homepage, Kids, Library News, and Teens.

June 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published in June that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel by Linda Holmes Published: 6/25/2019 by Ballantine Books “Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.”—Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains,
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

Board Meeting Documents for July 10th, 2019

Approved Library Board Meeting Minutes – 07 10 19 Combined Agenda 07-10-19 07-10-19 Library Board Agenda Agenda Item #1 – 05-08-19 Regular Library Board Minutes-ct Agenda Item #1 – 06-12-19 Regular Library Board Notes Agenda Item #2 – Budget Report – June 2019 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 22 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 23 Agenda Item #4 – Adult Services Report – June 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Assistant Directors Report – June 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Collection Management Report – June 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Community Outreach Report – June 2019 Agenda Item #4
Read More

Categories: Trustee Documents.