Monthly Archives March 2022

Outdoors with Kids

As spring approaches, we are all getting ready to reemerge into the great outdoors and hopefully get our children excited to be away from those screens we tend to rely on in colder weather. Below, find some great reads to help you in that endeavor. First and foremost, for those of us that are hesitant to let our children explore outside, check out Dirt Is Good: The Advantage of Germs for Your Child’s Developing Immune System, by Jack Gilbert and Rob Knight (Library Catalog). These scientists explain in a surprisingly straightforward and accessible way the advantages of exposing children to
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Resources for Caregivers

Being the main caregiver for a loved one can be challenging for a variety of reasons, so it's important to know where to turn when you need assistance, or to simply feel heard. Check out these recommended resources compiled by Adult Services Librarian Sharon Rothman. BOOKS Already Toast by Kate Washington Library Collection / Libby The story of one woman’s struggle to care for her seriously ill husband—and a revealing look at the role unpaid family caregivers play in a society that fails to provide them with structural support. Floating in the deep end: how caregivers can see beyond Alzheimer's
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and Library News.

Peculiar Picks

Peculiar Picks are a selection of odd, funny, interesting, curious, moving, irreverent, and otherwise wonderfully awesome, but perhaps not well known, reads. Peculiar Picks are books for younger readers and their grown-ups, handpicked by the Library's Youth Services Manager, Joshua Carlson. Who doesn’t love penguins? Here’s four Peculiar Penguin Picks. Vampenguin by Lucy Ruth Cummins Library Catalog I’d heard the term “penguin suit” for a tuxedo or black dinner jacket before, but had never once thought of a vampire, such as Dracula, as wearing a penguin suit, but once you do, as Lucy Ruth Cummins must have, the potential for
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Battle of the Books Club: April, May and June

Join librarians Kat and Lauren for a new book club this spring. We'll meet each month for a book discussion and a game, in the beloved Battle of the Books (BOB) trivia format. Read some awesome books and then team up with your friends to show off your book knowledge in a fast-paced tournament. The May and June editions of the program will feature the official books for this summer’s 2022 Battle of the Books tournament. We're currently recruiting team members for our Battle of the Books team this summer, open to teens entering grades 6-12 in fall 2022. If
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Events, Featured, Homepage Teens, Library News, and Teens.

Genealogy: the 1950 Census

Genealogy: What to Expect from the 1950 Census Tuesday, March 15th 7:00–8:00 p.m. Click here to register. Presented by Alan Steinfeld. After 72 years, the 1950 Census will be made public on April 1st. Come find out why this is a big deal for historians, genealogists, sociologists and the like. This presentation will address these and other questions: What questions did they ask? Why did they keep it private for 72 years? Am I in it and how do I find out? Why do we have a census anyway? This program is made possible with support from the White Plains
Read More

Categories: Library News.

March 2022 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love. Four Aunties and a Wedding by Jesse Q. Sutanto Library Collection: Print “The Chan family is back! Meddy Chan is getting married, and the wedding planners are perfect–until Meddy overhears the wedding photographer talking about murdering someone at the reception. Her aunties spring into action, setting into motion a series of madcap misadventures intended to save Meddy's special day. A charming combo of close-knit family, humor, and light mystery; great for fans of Mia P. Manansala and Jade Chang.”—Nanette Donohue, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL A Brush
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and Library News.

Irish Lore and Folklore

In March, we celebrate Ireland – the Emerald Isle – famous for its luscious green landscapes and friendly people, an island full of enchantment and mystery, inhabited by Leprechauns, Fairies, Pookas, and Banshees. You could attend a Saint Patrick’s Day parade and later find yourself in a room full of shamrocks and friends telling stories of Finn McCool, Jamie O’Rourke, or even a Goat King! However you decide to celebrate Ireland & Irish heritage – FÁILTE! (Welcome!) Leprechauns & Irish Lore Grab & Go Kits will be available on March 7th, while supplies last. Shamrocks, harps, and shillelaghs: the story
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Board Meeting Documents for March 9th, 2022

Combined Agenda 03-09-2022 03-09-22 Library Board Agenda Agenda Item #1 – 02-09-22 Annual Meeting Library Board Minutes Agenda Item #1 – 02-09-22 Regular Library Board Minutes Agenda Item #2 – Budget Report – February 2022 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 7 Agenda Item #4 – Adult Services Report – February 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Assistant Directors Report – February 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Collection Management Report – February 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Community Outreach Report – February 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Digital Media Specialist Report – February 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Library Systems Report
Read More

Categories: Trustee Documents.

Women’s History Month Books & Films

Celebrate Women's History Month with one of our staff selected books and films. You can find a list of 180 books here on Libby. Books She Came to to Slay: The Life and Times of Harriet Tubman by Erica Armstrong Dunbar Library Catalog: Print / CD Audiobook Libby: eBook / Audiobook National Book Award nominee Erica Armstrong Dunbar presents a fresh take on this American icon blending traditional biography, illustrations, photos, and engaging sidebars that illuminate the life of Tubman as never before. Not only did Tubman help liberate hundreds of slaves, she was the first woman to lead an
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and Library News.

Women in STEAM

For Women’s History Month, I will highlight some wonderful books that fall under a STEAM category: Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics. In celebrating Women’s History Month we will review a mixture of books, including biographies of an aviator, a mathematician and a Cherokee aerospace engineer. These books can be found in our print collection at The Trove and on Libby. At the end of the post, you'll also find some fun and educational websites for kids. Suggested Reads: Libby Loves Science by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes Library Catalog / Libby Libby is a precocious child who loves
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Tiny Tales: P-I-Z-Z-A

Tiny Tales are short “bite-sized” song and story videos. Watch one for a short early literacy break, or a few for a whole storytime! You can find our entire collection of Tiny Tales videos right here! Today’s video features Trove librarian Lauren presenting “P-I-Z-Z-A,” a delicious song to the tune of “B-I-N-G-O.” Tiny Tales are made possible with support from the White Plains Library Foundation.
Read More

Categories: Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.