Monthly Archives May 2022

May Poetry Slam

Join Zork and Kristen for the First Wednesday Poetry Slam on Wednesday, May 4th at 7:00 p.m. Pre-registration is required to try and accommodate as many poets as possible. Register here to attend or perform. Please be sure to provide an active email address as we will contact you to confirm whether you will be performing or just attending. All are welcome! Remember, you can find the SLAM on Facebook AND YouTube.   This program is supported by the White Plains Library Foundation.
Read More

Categories: Events and Library News.

May 2022 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love. Book of Night by Holly Black Library Collection: Print Libby: eBook / Audiobook “Charlie is a hot mess. The more she tries to get on the straight and narrow, the more things fall apart. Due to childhood trauma, she trusts only herself, and maybe her shadow. But in a world where shadows can be altered, stolen, and weaponized, she has to be wary. Lots of atmospheric world building and stage setting, and perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Neil Gaiman, and V.E. Schwab.—Emily Plagens, Allen Public Library,
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, and Library News.

Photos wanted: Winbrook, WP malls

Two of the original five buildings in the Winbrook apartments (now officially called Brookfield Commons) have been razed and replaced. The three still in use will eventually meet the same fate. The White Plains Mall will be leveled and replaced by a large residential and retail development called Hamilton Green. And the Galleria Mall, which lost its anchor stores when Sears and Macy’s closed, may be demolished whole or in part for a redevelopment that would dramatically change its appearance. As these buildings which were once fixtures in downtown White Plains disappear, we would like to keep a visual record
Read More

Categories: Featured, Homepage, Library News, and Local History.

Tiny Tales: Snappy Little Farmyard

Tiny Tales are short “bite-sized” song and story videos. Watch one for a short early literacy break, or a few for a whole storytime! You can find our entire collection of Tiny Tales videos right here! Today’s video features Trove librarian Tata presenting “Snappy Little Farmyard” Tiny Tales are made possible with support from the White Plains Library Foundation.
Read More

Categories: Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Chinese Culture & Language Classes

Thursdays, May 5th–June 2nd, 3:30 p.m. (virtual) Ages 5-15. Registration required. Space is limited. Registration is for all FIVE sessions Thursdays, 5/5-6/2. You must provide an email address when registering in order to receive the program link. Register here beginning April 14. Youth ages 5-15 are invited to take part in a five-part series of classes to explore Chinese culture in tandem with Chinese language learning. By cultivating enthusiasm for authentic Chinese culture, the programs teach them to: understand food culture, connect with Chinese history, appreciate Chinese traditions and holidays, and parse meaning from ever-important Chinese idioms. Through theme-based activities,
Read More

Categories: Classes, Events, Featured, Homepage Kids, Homepage Teens, Kids, Library News, and Teens.

Dungeons & Dragons for Beginners

Are you curious about D&D but don’t know where to start, or don’t want to join a long campaign? This Spring the Library will be hosting 3 individual campaigns for students in grades 7-12. These will take one session to complete, you can join for one or all of them. You will learn about characters, role playing, how to succeed in campaigns and what a 20 sided dice is used for. Click on the date below that you want to sign up for: Wednesday, April 27th from 4:30-7:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 25th from 4:30-7:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 22nd from 4:30-7:30
Read More

Categories: Events, Featured, Homepage Teens, Library News, and Teens.