Monthly Archives July 2022

Great Podcasts for Kids 6

It’s summer time! Perhaps you have a long car trip coming up or want to keep your kids engaged in some fun and educational content, well, podcasts are great for that! Check out these recommendations below, but be sure to also peruse the podcasts previously recommended. All of these podcasts should be available on any service you use to listen to podcasts, such as Apple Podcasts, Apple Music, Spotify, Stitcher, Google Podcasts, etc. Some, however, may be available only through the link provided. If you have some additional great podcast recommendations, leave them in the comments below! Podcast Potpourri The
Read More

Categories: Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

New Movies Streaming in July

Maybe you're already familiar with our streaming services hoopla and Kanopy, but did you know that they add new content each month? Find a list below of some exciting new titles available on each platform this month. hoopla Judy (2019 Drama) Directed by Rupert Goold. Starring Renée Zellweger, Jessie Buckley, Finn Wittrock, Rufus Sewell, Michael Gambon. Golden Globe® winner Renée Zellweger in this unforgettable portrait of showbiz legend Judy Garland. The Long Walk (2022 Sci-fi) Directed by Mattie Do. Starring Yannawoutthi Chanthalungsy, Vilouna Phetmany, Por Silatsa, Noutnapha Soydara, Chanthamone Inoudome. An old scavenger recklessly exploits a ghostly companion's ability to
Read More

Categories: Featured and Library News.

July LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love. What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher Library Collection: Print “A retelling of The Fall of the House of Usher, Kingfisher's latest adds the creepiest of flesh to the bare-bones tale by Poe. Complete with a scary, isolated mansion and eerie behaviors of the residents, this version not only makes perfect sense within the original narrative, but adds a depth of understanding that suddenly makes all the pieces fall into place. For fans of Mexican Gothic, The Haunting of Hill House, and The Night Stranger.”—Sheri Stanley, Gulfport
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, and Library News.

August StoryWalk: These Seas Count

The Trove’s Second 2022 Summer Storywalk: These Seas Count by Alison Formento and Illustrated by Sarah Snow Monday, August 1st – Wednesday, August 31st This summer the Library’s theme is “Oceans of Possibilities” and we are continuing this theme with our second StoryWalk. Take a stroll in the Garden Plaza and along your way enjoy the book, These Seas Count, written by Alison Formento and illustrated by Sarah Snow. These Seas Count is a story about a day at the beach where a community of kids, a captain, and a teacher participate in a beach clean up activity and learn
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

STEAM Activity: Butterfly Life Cycle

Summer is a wonderful time to learn about insects such as butterflies. This STEAM project will engage young patrons in learning about the stages of a butterfly, which include eggs, caterpillar, chrysalis, and butterfly. This is a great opportunity for children to engage in creating a life cycle craft. You can also use the websites and books provided below to learn more about the life cycle of a butterfly. Materials Paper plates Green construction paper/marker (to create a leaf) small white cotton balls (to create the eggs) Green and yellow pipe cleaners (to create a caterpillar) Brown pipe cleaners or
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Board Meeting Documents for July 13th, 2022

Approved Library Board Meeting Minutes – 07-13-22 Combined Agenda 07-13-22 07-13-22 Library Board Agenda Agenda Item #1 – 06-08-22 Regular Library Board Minutes Agenda Item #2 – Budget Report – June 2022 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 11 Agenda Item #4 – Adult Services Report – June 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Assistant Directors Report – June 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Collection Management Report – June 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Community Outreach Report – June 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Digital Media Specialist Report – June 2022 Agenda Item #4 – Library Systems Report – June 2022
Read More

Categories: Trustee Documents.

August Book Bunch

Wednesday, August 25th at 4:30 p.m. Click here to register. Join Caroline and Alain for a book discussion and trivia game for 4th through 8th graders! We will be reading Stand Up Yumi Chung by Jessica Kim. We will provide a free copy of the book for the first ten individuals to register for the discussion. When the books are available, we will email to arrange pickup; please list an email address when registering. You can place a hold on the print book with your library card using our catalog If you prefer the eBook, you can find it on
Read More

Categories: Library News.

Celebrate African Dance, Drumming, & Storytelling

Wednesday, 7:00 p.m.: 7/20 Children, Teens, Families, Adults Library Plaza / Rain Location: Library Auditorium. West African dance tells a story. Chiku Awali African Dance, Arts & Culture, Inc. performs and teaches African dances. In all African cultures, dances are participatory. Chiku Awali will share the beauty and magic of these types of dances, and the audience is encouraged to join in these celebratory dances. Alongside the dancing, the griot will enchant the audience with tales of Anansi the Spider. Chiku Awali is a combination of Swahili and Ibo that means charterer and joy. Thus, the name represents the joy
Read More

Categories: Library News.

Beautiful Bilingual Books, Part 1

The Library has recently purchased a lovely collection of bilingual Spanish/English books. To celebrate reading in two languages, we will be featuring our beautiful new books in a 3-part blog series – so enjoy practicing your Spanish and English skills with these board books, picture books and nonfiction titles! La Biblioteca ha adquirido recientemente una colección de hermosos libros bilingües en inglés/español. Para celebrar leyendo en 2 idiomas, estaremos presentando nuestros lindos libros en 3 partes. Así que disfrute practicando sus destrezas en ambos idiomas con estos libros en carpeta dura, ilustrados y no-ficción. Board Books / Libros de carpeta
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Español, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.