Archives for Library Reads

April 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. Lost Roses: A Novel by Martha Hall Kelly Published: 4/9/2019 by Ballantine Books “The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and World War I. Highly recommended for book clubs and fans of Anthony Doerr, Susan Meissner, and Lauren Belfer.”—Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME The Girl He
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

March 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing Published: 3/26/2019 by Berkley “An incredible, dark, twisty psychological thriller with two of the most seemingly normal but disturbingly depraved people you will read about in fiction. This brilliant debut needs to be at the top of your must-read list. For readers who like taut suspense and works by Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica.”—Rachel Reeves, Weatherford Public Library, Weatherford, TX Beautiful Bad by Annie
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

February 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides Published: 2/5/2019 by Celadon Books “Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”—Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

January 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. Once Upon a River: A Novel by Diane Setterfield Published: 12/4/2018 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books “A wonderfully dark and mysterious read. Something happens one stormy winter solstice evening that triggers a chain of events that changes the lives of all the main characters. Moody and mystical. For readers who love gothic fiction like The Death of Mrs. Westaway and The Clockmaker’s Daughter.”—Melanie Liechty, Logan Library, Logan, UT An Anonymous Girl by Greer
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

Best Books of 2018 Poll

Here are the top ten books published this year that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. When you're done reading the list, make sure to vote for your favorite! We'll be sharing the results in one of our upcoming newsletters. Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover Published: 2/20/2018 by Random House “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her relationships with siblings,
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Director's Corner, eNewsletter, and Featured.

November 2018 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel by Oyinkan Braithwaite Published: 11/20/2018 by Doubleday “Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.”—Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ The Adults: A Novel
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and eNewsletter.

October 2018 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory Published: 10/30/2018 by Berkley Jove “A disastrous public wedding proposal results in a chance meeting between Nik and Carlos. What follows is a delightfully humorous and sweet story about two people falling for each other while remaining seemingly unaware of their blossoming romance. The book sets itself apart by portraying a self-aware, feminist woman who enjoys positive relationships with female friends. An engaging and upbeat multicultural romance.”
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and eNewsletter.