Teen Book Reviews

Teen Book Review
Use this form to submit a review for a Young Adult book. You will earn one hour of community service for each book review; there is a limit of 8 hours per person per month. Reviewed books must be YA books available in the White Plains Public Library collection, either listed as YA Fiction, YA Nonfiction, or YA Graphic Novel. The book should be owned by the White Plains Public Library in the library catalog found here, or available on OverDrive/Libby. Please contact YA librarian Kat at kcarroll@whiteplainslibrary.org with any questions.
Would you like your first name to appear? * Required
Note: we will not publish your last name.
Please check all boxes that apply to your book: * Required
If so, please list titles and authors for the other books.
*five real sentences    *introduce the premise and main characters    *no spoilers allowed

Reviews

Death Note   by   Takeshi Obata   4 stars

Genre/s:   Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   No

My review:   

Death Note is a graphic novel about a boy named Light Yagami, who finds a notebook outside his school that says that any name that is written in it, they will die. He did not believe it, but decided to take it home and wrote the name of a criminal he saw on the news in it. The criminal was holding hostages and he ended up dying, which saved all of the hostages. So he started writing the names of different criminals in the book, and they all ended up dying. The police began to catch on and they hired a detective called “L” because he was the best detective in the world. “L” figures out that the person doing these killings is an actual person, but does not know how to find him. They both keep trying to find each other's identities because the first person to find the other's identity would die or be arrested. I would recommend this book because it is interesting to see how each character tries to find each other's identity. They keep getting closer and closer to each other.



Submitted by:   

   September 23, 2021 at 3:13 pm

Attack on Titan   by   Hajime Isayama   4 stars

Genre/s:   Fantasy

The book reminded me of:   No

My review:   

Attack on Titan is a graphic novel about a boy named Aaron who lives in three walls that protect the entire human nation from being attacked by monsters named Titans. Inside of the walls there are three fractions of the military called the Scouts, the Military Police, and the Garrison Regimen. The Scouts go outside the walls and try to get information on the Titans, and Aaron wants to become one. There is a big Titan name Colossal Titan, and he kicks the wall down and lets all the other Titans inside to kill the rest of human kind. Aaron gets eaten by one of the Titans and was about to die, but activates Titan power and retakes all of the walls. He founds out the Colossal Titan is also half human and has the same powers as Aaron, but comes from another country. The Colossal Titan thought his people, called the Eldians, were the last people on Earth. I would recommend this novel because it has a lot of really big plot changes and there is a lot of suspense, which keeps it interesting. It makes you question who is the villain in the novel?



Submitted by:   

   September 21, 2021 at 3:19 pm

All the Crooked Saints   by   Maggie Stiefvater   4 stars

Genre/s:   Fantasy

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

In Maggie Stiefvater's book All the Crooked Saints, you learn about the Soria family, and their ability to perform miracles. These miracles save people, called pilgrims, from the “darkness” inside themselves. The Sorias are not allowed to talk to the pilgrims while they struggle with their darkness. Pete's aunt was one of the people who had a miracle performed on her, and he is sent to the Sorias for work. Upon arriving, he finds the family in a state of upheaval, as one of their own has been consumed by his own darkness, said to be much worse than the rest. He, along with the Sorias, must find a way to help him save himself, and in doing so, save themselves as well.



Submitted by:   

   September 12, 2021 at 2:54 pm

Projekt 1065   by   Alan Gratz   5 stars

Genre/s:   Science Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Historical Fiction, Family

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Projekt 1065 is a historical novel focusing on a 13 year old protagonist named Michael O'Shaughnessy. This story is set in Germany during World War II, where his Irish ambassador father, and Irish spy mother assist the Allies. Throughout the story Michael engages in many tasks to gather information to report to the allies. During his time in spying, Michael learns to put fear past him and to be strong. To fit in with his peers as a spy, he had to join the Hitler Youth program. In the initiation, he had to jump off a high ledge into water. This was a huge problem because of his phobia to heights, however, managed to do it with the help of a friend pushing him off. He also had to mature when doing tasks in the Hitler Youth program, where he found and hid a boy named Simon after his plane was shot down. He hides and shelters Simon in the embassy which puts his family at great risk. Throughout this journey of spying and maturing, Michael saves many lives and significantly helps out the Allied forces by spreading information on the new plan for a military bomber airplane “Projekt 1065”, saving allies, and attempting to prevent as many Nazi advances as he can.



Submitted by:   

   September 10, 2021 at 1:19 pm

Tokyo Ghoul 1   by   Sui Ishida   3 stars

Genre/s:   Fantasy, Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Sui Ishida's graphic novel Tokyo Ghoul is a series about a boy named Kaneki. There has been many news about ghouls and Kaneki didn't believe they existed. But, one day Kaneki turns into a half ghoul and half human and tries to figure out how did he become like the way he is. He meets other people who are also ghouls and while he's with them he does his best to go back fully human. This graphic novel is interesting because wouldn't you know the cause of becoming a ghoul, it's strange and I wondered why and where they are coming from.



Submitted by:   

   July 29, 2021 at 6:28 pm

Demon slayer= Kimetsu no yaiba 1   by   Koyoharu Gotouge   4 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Koyoharu Gotouge's graphic novel Demon slayer= Kimetsu no yaiba. 1 is about a brother and sister, brother named Tanjiro and sister named Nezuko. Nezuko turned into a demon and Tanjiro wants to figure out how to fix this situation because the problem is that Nezuko wants to eat humans. Tanjiro gets help from the demon slayers in order to defeat the demons because he is a good boy and cares a lot (even the bad people) and he can't stay caring to the demons. I enjoyed reading the novel because every time I read the pages it makes me want to know what will happen next. There is some graphics in the novel, in case if you're sensitive to the topic of horror then I don't recommend this novel to you, other than that Demon slayer= Kimetsu no yaiba. 1 feels like you're in a adventure with Tanjiro.



Submitted by:   

   July 27, 2021 at 2:19 pm

The Promised Neverland 1   by   Kaiu Shirai   5 stars

Genre/s:   Science Fiction, Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Kaiu Shirai's graphic novel The promised Neverland 1 is about three kids, Ray, Norman, and Emma. The three kids are eleven years old and are orphans, with around thirty children close enough with the age who stay at an orphanage (youngest is six and oldest is eleven). All of the kids are not related by blood and there is a lady which everyone goes by “mom” because she takes care of everyone and everything at the orphanage. Emma and Norman find a barrier that takes them to a “different world” and it seems to be a secret because the “mom” tells everyone not to go but, doesn't say why. So, they (and Ray) try to come up with a plan to see what is the “different world”. I enjoyed reading this novel because you can see what is happening to each character throughout the story and I'm excited to continue reading this since it's a series.



Submitted by:   

   July 22, 2021 at 12:58 am

The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks   by   Rebecca Skloot   5 stars

Genre/s:   Nonfiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot is based on a true story of a lady named Henrietta Lacks (main character). Scientists took Lack's cells, also known as HeLa cells, without permission. The cells can help treat some sickness, viruses, and drugs. Back then, there wasn't anything wrong with doctors taking parts of the body from humans to use them for experiments. But, ever since HeLa cells have done so much for the people and cells were taken away from a dead body, the Lacks family didn't know anything about the cells and what the doctors were doing to her. The Lacks family start to investigate the doctors, the hospital, and their family member Henrietta Lacks. I enjoyed reading this book because you learn what has happened in the medical field, what the scientists were doing at that time, and how the family developed after Henrietta Lacks. The fact that this book is based on a true story makes me feel more interested because whatever happened in the book is real and nothing is made up. You get to think about how much Henrietta Lacks and her family have gone through, throughout the years.



Submitted by:   

   July 19, 2021 at 12:13 am

THE THINGS THEY CARRIED   by   TIm O'Brien   4 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Historical Fiction, #ownvoices (the author shares the identity of the character, and writes from their own personal experience; ), Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

  Tim O’Brien’s “THE THINGS THEY CARRIED” is a masterpiece set in the period of the Vietnam war. O’Brien artistically blends fiction and truth throughout the novel in a collection of experiences, recollections and stories. “THE THINGS THEY CARRIED” literally portrays what soldiers during the war carried with them- such weapons and additional equipment – as well as the various emotions that weighed them down. These emotions included their guilt as well as the fear of the power they possessed.  O’Brien was able to convey his as well as the majority of the American soldier’s opinions towards the war. Suspense was powerfully used throughout the book which always kept the reader on their toes and had great emotional effect on the reader. O’Brien is able to give the reader an insight of the relationships between soldiers – the day to day ups and downs as well as the long term dynamics between them. Through the use of vivid descriptive language, O’Brien paints a series of images of Vietnam and the emotions associated with them. One of O’Brien’s objectives was for the legends of each of the characters in the book including himself to live forever in his writing. All in all, Tim O’Brien put together a very interesting book that cannot be missed. 



Submitted by:   

   July 14, 2021 at 10:22 pm

They Both Die at the End   by   Adam Silvera   3 stars

Genre/s:   Romance, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The book They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera follows the last days of a boy named Mateo and a boy named Rufus. They both got a call from death-cast, a service that informs people when their last day is. In attempts to live their last day to the fullest, Rufus and Mateo go on an app and through that app they meet each other. These two complete strangers begin to form a friendship and eventual romance, bonding over the shared fact that they are both going to die soon. This book was very heartwarming and sad and I would recommend it to anyone who loves tragic romances.



Submitted by:   

   July 7, 2021 at 12:17 am