Teen Book Reviews

Teen Book Review
Use this form to submit a review for a Young Adult book. You will earn one hour of community service for each book review; there is a limit of 8 hours per person per month. Reviewed books must be YA books available in the White Plains Public Library collection, either listed as YA Fiction, YA Nonfiction, or YA Graphic Novel. The book should be owned by the White Plains Public Library in the library catalog found here, or available on OverDrive/Libby. Please contact YA librarian Kat at kcarroll@whiteplainslibrary.org with any questions.
Would you like your first name to appear? * Required
Note: we will not publish your last name.
Please check all boxes that apply to your book: * Required
If so, please list titles and authors for the other books.
*five real sentences    *introduce the premise and main characters    *no spoilers allowed

Reviews

A Very Large Expanse of Sea   by   Tahereh Mafi   4 stars

Genre/s:   Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The romance novel A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi is about a high school sophomore named Shirin who‘s had a tough life growing up dealing with bullying. Shirin’s tired and annoyed of people stereotyping her; based on her religion, what she wears, and who she is. Since Shirin is used to receiving so much disrespect and physical violence , she builds up a strong personality. A strong personality where if someone makes a joke about her, she’ll take it seriously. It all changes when Shirin meets a high school junior named Ocean James. Ocean James and Shirin start to have a good friendship and beginning to talk more. Shirin starts to feel comfortable around Ocean and maybe her feelings have changed. I gave this novel a four star because around in the middle the story it was a little slow but after that it story was better.



Submitted by:   

   January 21, 2021 at 12:15 am

Frankly in love   by   David Yoon   5 stars

Genre/s:   Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

David Yoon’s romance novel Frankly in Love is about a high school senior named Frank Li. Frank wants to date a girl that doesn’t have the same nationality as him which is Korean. It’s a family tradition where if you’re dating someone it has to be Korean not someone different. Frank likes a girl named Brit, but the problem is she’s American. Frank’s friend named Joy Song is in the same situation, she’s Korean and dating Wu who’s Chinese. Frank and Joy make a plan to fake date so they can go with their date dates (Frank can go with Brit and Joy can go with Wu). While fake dating, Frank and Joy start to think if they’re with the right person at all. If you want to know more then read the novel and in my opinion I really enjoyed reading it.



Submitted by:   

   January 18, 2021 at 10:35 am

The Martian Chronicles   by   Ray Bradbury   5 stars

Genre/s:   Science Fiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The first book to interest me in the science fiction genre, and a compelling read, The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury is set in a fictional world where humans colonize Mars. The book is a collection of several short interconnected short stories, with time jumps between each. Starting with perspective of the first mission of humans to reach Mars, and ending with the last few people left on Mars, this story is full of masterful twists, leaving you question what is real, and what is inside of the characters heads. A true page-turner, and short enough to keep you interested, The Martian Chronicles is well worth the read.



Submitted by:   

   January 11, 2021 at 12:29 am

A Separate Peace   by   John Knowles   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

This book had a profound and lasting impact of me. The book follows a boy, who grows jealous of his friend Finny. Finny is athletic and beautiful and kind. He was a true prodigy, everything came easily to him. The boy is frustrated, but knows he shouldn't be, because Finny has only every been a good friend to him. This internal conflict, the frustration growing within the narrator, is beautifully executed in a compelling story; it is well worth the read.



Submitted by:   

   January 11, 2021 at 12:19 am

Always and Forever, Lara Jean   by   Jenny Han   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Jenny Han finishes her 3 book series wonderfully in Always and Forever, Lara Jean. In this book, Lara Jean and her boyfriend Peter confront new troubles concerning college, the possibility of a long-distance relationship, and Lara Jean's father's wedding. As the couple approaches college, Lara Jean contemplates their relationship and has trouble choosing between what her late mother told her and what her heart is telling her to do. This book presents a realistic point of view of a high school relationship and keeps you turning the pages to see what happens. I highly recommend this book as it is very entertaining and appropriately ties up the series.



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 9:47 pm

P.S. I Still Love You   by   Jenny Han   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The second book in the series by Jenny Han, P.S. I Still Love You, presents new conflicts. In the last book, Lara Jean fell in love with Peter Cavinsky after her sister sent out a letter of Lara's past feelings for him. At first, they pretended to be in a relationship, but now they must overcome obstacles as a couple. Just as things are going smoothly, Lara Jean is confronted with big decisions. I highly recommend this book as it presents some of the real-life struggles of being in a relationship and takes you through an entertaining and realistic story.



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 9:37 pm

To All the Boys I've Loved Before   by   Jenny Han   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance, Humor, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

You've probably heard of the movie, To all the boys I've Loved Before, but little do most know it is based on the book by Jenny Han. In this page-turning book, the protagonist Lara Jean suffers the consequences when her younger sister sends off her most private possessions. Lara Jean wrote letters to every boy she'd ever loved describing intimate details and things she never wanted them to actually know. So, when one of the boys reaches out, they are both put into a difficult situation. Read this book to see what happens next!



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 9:32 pm

Take the Key and Lock Her Up   by   Ally Carter   5 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Take the Key and Lock Her Up, the third and final book in Ally Carter's Embassy Row series takes a new direction. In the previous books, Grace discovers what happened on the night of her mother's death, but also digs up international secrets that force her into hiding. She has learned she cannot trust anyone but in order to make things right, she must work together with her friends to avoid death and global conflict. As Grace and her friends dig deeper into long-kept secrets they must watch their backs and make hard sacrifices. This book finishes Carter's series and leaves you wanting more.



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 9:00 pm

See How They Run   by   Ally Carter   4 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The second book in Ally Carter's Embassy Row series, See How They Run, is, like the rest of the books in the series, centered around Grace Blakely. Grace lives on Embassy Row in the US Embassy and uses her time to discover the truth about her mother's death. Since the previous book, Grace has uncovered secrets she would never believe her family could tell her, but still continues to find an explanation for what happened. She has befriended people on Embassy Row who help her with this, but her constant need to ignore what the adults tell her makes her a target. Read this book to find out where Grace's curiosity leads her and whether it was all worth it.



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 8:54 pm

All Fall Down   by   Ally Carter   5 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Mystery, Romance, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The first book in Ally Carter's Embassy Row Series, All Fall Down, is centered around Grace Blakely. Her grandfather is a US Ambassador and she lives on Embassy Row, a street where every block you turn is a new country. 3 years ago Grace watched her mother die in front of her, and since then she's been sent from psychologist to therapist to anyone who can help, but nobody will tell her the truth about what happened. Everyone in her life thinks she's crazy and should move on, but she is determined to figure out the truth. I highly recommend this book as it will have you intrigued as both you and Grace attempt to discover what really happened.



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 8:47 pm