Teen Book Reviews

Teen Book Review
Use this form to submit a review for a Young Adult book. You may earn one hour of community service for each book review; there is a limit of 4 hours per person per month.

To qualify for community service credit, reviewed books must be YA books available in the Edge print collection at the White Plains Public Library. To find out if a title qualifies, search for it in our Library catalog found here. Make sure to click on the title of the book to confirm that the record says White Plains Library AND that the shelving location is listed as YA Fiction, YA Nonfiction, or YA Graphic Novel.

The review should consist of at least five sentences, introducing the main characters and plot without giving spoilers. Your goal is to show other teens what makes this book interesting and worth reading.

Please contact YA librarian Kat at kcarroll@whiteplainslibrary.org to request documentation of your community service credit, or if you have any questions. Please specify what kind of documentation your volunteer organization requires (letter, signed form, email, etc.)

Would you like your first name to appear? * Required
Note: we will not publish your last name.
Please check all boxes that apply to your book: * Required
If so, please list titles and authors for the other books.
*five real sentences    *introduce the premise and main characters    *no spoilers allowed

Reviews

Romeo & Juliet   by   William Shakespeare   4 stars

Genre/s:   Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

This is a famous story about a teenage couple who fall in love, but their families hate each other. The story is written in Old English. I recommend this book because it is relatable for other people. Romeo is a Montague and Juliet is a Capulet. They are rival families. The fights between the families of the Montagues and Capulets are exciting. I suggest this book for people who enjoy reading romance and drama.



Submitted by:   

   May 13, 2022 at 3:31 pm

Cemetery Boys   by   AIden Thomas   4 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Coming from a more traditionalist Latinx background, Yadriel's family is reluctant to fully embrace his gender identity. As a result, Yadriel struggles to affirm his masculine identity, but he soon finds the perfect time to establish his role in the family: La Día de Muertos.

To validate his being an authentic brujo, he along with his best friend, Maritza perform a ritual to summon the ghost of his dead cousin. Anyhow, the pair instead summoned the ghost of Julian Diaz, the former “bad boy” of Yadriel's school, who has an agenda of his own: solving the mystery of his death and finding closure. Yadriel agrees to aid Julian in his search in exchange for his help with his familial issues, but the bond they form along the way is not easily forgettable. Consequently, Yadriel is forced to choose between his brujo status and a dear relationship of his, either outcome resulting in a loss.



Submitted by:   

   May 3, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Legendborn   by   Tracy Deonn   5 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy, #ownvoices (the author shares the identity of the character, and writes from their own personal experience; )

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Shortly after the tragic death of her mother, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews attends the Early College Program at UNC. Bree's college experience quickly turns odd when she witnesses a magical attack on her first day, which she soon discovers to be connected to an on-campus secret society that is in truth the Knights of the Round Table, a society that is directly derived from the story of King Arthur. Soon enough, Bree discovers that the Legendborn–the magic-users within this society–are connected to her mother's death, and persuades Nick–a Legendborn who has separated himself from the society–to help her find answers.

Along with fantastical elements, King Arthur lore, and gripping action scenes, Deonn also manages to incorporate her own identity in the story, exploring generational trauma and black culture, creating a completely fresh rendition of the Welsh legend. This book brings out all of the best elements of Young Adult Fantasy and does a great job at making relatable but unique characters.



Submitted by:   

   April 25, 2022 at 5:38 pm

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone   by   J.K. Rowling   3 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy, Humor

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

This is the first book in the entertaining Harry Potter series. In this book, Harry finds out that he is a wizard on his eleventh birthday. Entering into the wizard world, Harry begins to learn how to control his magic and discover himself. Harry's adventures with his two best friends, Hermoine and Ron, are sure to make the reader excited. I highly suggest this book for all ages.



Submitted by:   

   April 20, 2022 at 5:38 pm

Always and Forever, Lara Jean   by   Jenny Han   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance

The book reminded me of:   To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

My review:   

Lara Jean is experiencing a ton of exciting moments in her personal life, and her high school life as well, as she is now a senior! Everything is going right until she comes face to face with the next big decisions she must make. Most importantly where she wants to go to college, and what that means for her relationship with Peter. This all puts her fun to a halt. She is left navigating her senior year with a few struggles, and her relationship with Peter goes through many ups and downs.

This novel is the perfect ending to its trilogy. It is heart-warming and perfect for anyone who enjoys romance, or the previous books in this series.



Submitted by:   

   March 29, 2022 at 7:11 pm

P.S. I Still Love You   by   Jenny Han   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance

The book reminded me of:   To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

My review:   

Lara Jean and Peter have many ups and downs in their relationship. From a viral video to other love interests, things get interesting. Lara Jean finds herself involved with an old crush, John Ambrose, and she is left to decide between him and Peter. Things get difficult as Lara Jean has always seen John Ambrose as the perfect boyfriend, but realizes that she might still love Peter, despite his flaws.

This novel is heart-warming and romantic. And it will definitely keep you wanting to read more, becoming invested in the character's relationships. This is the perfect novel for anyone who enjoys romance novels and feeling butterflies as they read.



Submitted by:   

   March 29, 2022 at 6:58 pm

The Upside of Unrequited   by   Becky Albertalli   4 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Molly and Cassie are twins, but they are kind of opposites. Molly is your typical crush-prone teenager, while Cassie couldn't care less. As they navigate life as teenagers, Cassie finds herself falling in love for the first time, while Molly is left alone. Molly helps her sister with her first love, and Cassie tries to set her sister up as well, with her girlfriend's friend. But, Molly finds herself falling for her co-worker Reid, instead.

This novel is so interesting, as we watch two teenage girls experience love, first kisses, and romance for the first time. This novel is heart-warming and relatable. I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys reading fiction and romance.



Submitted by:   

   March 29, 2022 at 6:49 pm

Puddin'   by   Julie Murphy   4 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance

The book reminded me of:   Dumplin' by Julie Murphy

My review:   

Millie has gone to fat camp every year since she was a little girl. Callie dreams of being the dance team captain. They seem like opposites, right? Well, they may not be. Millie finds herself wanting to pursue newscasting, ditching fat camp. Well, things happen, and these girls find themselves spending more and more time together. But it isn't all too bad, they actually have a lot more in common than they thought, shocking everyone.

This novel is heart-warming, romantic, and fun, as we see the two main characters come together and share important moments in each other's lives, as the readers sit in on the growth of their friendship. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fiction and romance.



Submitted by:   

   March 29, 2022 at 6:15 pm

Tokyo Ghoul   by   Sui Ishida   5 stars

Genre/s:   Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery

The book reminded me of:   Ajin Gamon Sakurai

My review:   

Tokyo Ghoul is set in Tokyo where humans and Ghouls live. However, ghouls can only eat human flesh and coffee. The protagonist, Ken Kaneki, is thrusted into the world of Ghouls when he realizes his date, Rize, is a ghoul. After surviving the incident with Rize, Kaneki discovers that he has now turned into a half-ghoul half-human creature. Ken Kaneki's life is forever changed. He has to hide his true identity from his human friends, while encountering other hostile ghouls. Will Kaneki survive in this harsh world? Will he meet anyone that can help him? Read Tokyo Ghoul to find out!



Submitted by:   

   March 19, 2022 at 5:09 pm

Animal Farm   by   George Orwell   5 stars

Genre/s:   Fantasy, Historical Fiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Mr Jones, a farmer, owns Manor Farm. However, he does not own normal animals. The novel opens with an old pig, named Major, convincing all the other animals that humans are their enemy. Snowball, Napoleon, and Squealer, other pigs, rouse up all the other animals for a possible revolution. Do they revolt and take the farm? You have to read to find out!



Submitted by:   

   March 17, 2022 at 5:36 pm