Teen Book Reviews

Teen Book Review
Use this form to submit a review for a Young Adult book. You will earn one hour of community service for each book review; there is a limit of 8 hours per person per month. Reviewed books must be YA books available in the White Plains Public Library collection, either listed as YA Fiction, YA Nonfiction, or YA Graphic Novel. The book should be owned by the White Plains Public Library in the library catalog found here, or available on OverDrive/Libby. Please contact YA librarian Kat at kcarroll@whiteplainslibrary.org with any questions.
Would you like your first name to appear? * Required
Note: we will not publish your last name.
Please check all boxes that apply to your book: * Required
If so, please list titles and authors for the other books.
*five real sentences    *introduce the premise and main characters    *no spoilers allowed

Reviews

American Panda   by   Gloria Chao   4 stars

Genre/s:   Romance, Humor

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Gloria Chao’s romance novel American Panda is about a seventeen year old girl named Mei Lu who is leading up to her parents expectations in life. Mei Lu goes to college even though she should be in high school but, she skipped fourth grade. Mei’s parents already had their plan set for her and it was to become a doctor, marry someone who’s Taiwanese and produce babies. The problem was that Mei dislikes germs, falls asleep in her classes, and likes a guy who is not Taiwanese. Mei doesn’t know what to do so she tries to get in contact with her older brother Xing. Xing is in the same situation, dating a woman who’s not Taiwanese, but is not in contact with the family. Mei thinks whether if hiding all of this information is a good idea or will she have to say it before anything bad happens. I recommend this romance novel because while reading you’ll want to know how the parents going to react. Will the parents allow Mei dating someone who’s not Taiwanese or will they not? You will have to read the novel in order to find out the answer.



Submitted by:   

   April 1, 2021 at 2:00 pm

How to disappear   by   Sharon Huss Roat   5 stars

Genre/s:   No Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The fiction novel How to Disappear by Sharon Huss about a girl named Vicky who has anxiety. Vicky creates a fake Instagram account photoshopping herself into other photos. Vicky's account starts to become viral by people reposting her pictures and receives many likes. “People are mirrors – they don't see you how you see yourself” This quote sounds unique because people can think of you as another person which isn't right, and they don't know the REAL you. I think Vicky is shy, when she does something (even little) gets embarrassed and starts having anxiety. When a friend talks to her she gets nervous because she doesn't know what to do nor what to say. I recommend this novel because it teaches a lesson where it doesn't matter what people think about you, you should be brave and be confident in yourself.



Submitted by:   

   March 31, 2021 at 11:45 pm

The color of water   by   James McBride   3 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Family

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The color of water by James McBride
The Color Of Water by James McBride  is one man's journey to discover how, exactly, he fits into this world. He is in search of his cultural identity. This is something most people kind of already know or can generally figure out; however, James has many elements of his life which are confusing to him until he is able to uncover his mother's life story.



Submitted by:   

   March 24, 2021 at 8:45 pm

With the Fire on High   by   Elizabeth Acevedo   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, #ownvoices (the author shares the identity of the character, and writes from their own personal experience; ), Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

With the Fire on High is an empowering story of teen mom Emoni Santiago. She faces struggles unlike those of her peers but she finds comfort in cooking, which is her passion and gift. Emoni's dreams to graduate and one day become a chef seem impossible when having to juggle the daily struggles of being a teen mother. With help from her grandmother, her best friend Angelica, Malachi, a recent transfer student, her baby Emma, and cooking, Emoni finds her way. This book is a heartwarming, encouraging story that shows how with hard work and help from friends, dreams may be closer than they seem.



Submitted by:   

   February 15, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens agenda   by   Becky Albertalli   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

This book is a modern-day twist on teen romance. Readers can expect to follow the exciting (and sometimes scary) ups and downs of a secret online romance. Charming and likable but closeted gay teen Simon Spier has an online relationship, but he keeps it a secret, along with his identity. As he falls more and more in love with the anonymous boy he has been digitally messaging who goes by the name of “Blue,” will his secret get in the way of his friendships?  Between the well-developed and likable characters and Albertalli’s unique voice, this book is hard to put down.



Submitted by:   

   February 15, 2021 at 9:28 pm

A Very Large Expanse of Sea   by   Tahereh Mafi   4 stars

Genre/s:   Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The romance novel A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi is about a high school sophomore named Shirin who‘s had a tough life growing up dealing with bullying. Shirin’s tired and annoyed of people stereotyping her; based on her religion, what she wears, and who she is. Since Shirin is used to receiving so much disrespect and physical violence , she builds up a strong personality. A strong personality where if someone makes a joke about her, she’ll take it seriously. It all changes when Shirin meets a high school junior named Ocean James. Ocean James and Shirin start to have a good friendship and beginning to talk more. Shirin starts to feel comfortable around Ocean and maybe her feelings have changed. I gave this novel a four star because around in the middle the story it was a little slow but after that it story was better.



Submitted by:   

   January 21, 2021 at 12:15 am

Frankly in love   by   David Yoon   5 stars

Genre/s:   Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

David Yoon’s romance novel Frankly in Love is about a high school senior named Frank Li. Frank wants to date a girl that doesn’t have the same nationality as him which is Korean. It’s a family tradition where if you’re dating someone it has to be Korean not someone different. Frank likes a girl named Brit, but the problem is she’s American. Frank’s friend named Joy Song is in the same situation, she’s Korean and dating Wu who’s Chinese. Frank and Joy make a plan to fake date so they can go with their date dates (Frank can go with Brit and Joy can go with Wu). While fake dating, Frank and Joy start to think if they’re with the right person at all. If you want to know more then read the novel and in my opinion I really enjoyed reading it.



Submitted by:   

   January 18, 2021 at 10:35 am

The Martian Chronicles   by   Ray Bradbury   5 stars

Genre/s:   Science Fiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The first book to interest me in the science fiction genre, and a compelling read, The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury is set in a fictional world where humans colonize Mars. The book is a collection of several short interconnected short stories, with time jumps between each. Starting with perspective of the first mission of humans to reach Mars, and ending with the last few people left on Mars, this story is full of masterful twists, leaving you question what is real, and what is inside of the characters heads. A true page-turner, and short enough to keep you interested, The Martian Chronicles is well worth the read.



Submitted by:   

   January 11, 2021 at 12:29 am

A Separate Peace   by   John Knowles   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

This book had a profound and lasting impact of me. The book follows a boy, who grows jealous of his friend Finny. Finny is athletic and beautiful and kind. He was a true prodigy, everything came easily to him. The boy is frustrated, but knows he shouldn't be, because Finny has only every been a good friend to him. This internal conflict, the frustration growing within the narrator, is beautifully executed in a compelling story; it is well worth the read.



Submitted by:   

   January 11, 2021 at 12:19 am

Always and Forever, Lara Jean   by   Jenny Han   5 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Romance, Family, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Jenny Han finishes her 3 book series wonderfully in Always and Forever, Lara Jean. In this book, Lara Jean and her boyfriend Peter confront new troubles concerning college, the possibility of a long-distance relationship, and Lara Jean's father's wedding. As the couple approaches college, Lara Jean contemplates their relationship and has trouble choosing between what her late mother told her and what her heart is telling her to do. This book presents a realistic point of view of a high school relationship and keeps you turning the pages to see what happens. I highly recommend this book as it is very entertaining and appropriately ties up the series.



Submitted by:   

   January 10, 2021 at 9:47 pm