Teen Book Reviews

Teen Book Review
Use this form to submit a review for a Young Adult book. You will earn one hour of community service for each book review; there is a limit of 8 hours per person per month. Reviewed books must be YA books available in the White Plains Public Library collection, either listed as YA Fiction, YA Nonfiction, or YA Graphic Novel. The book should be owned by the White Plains Public Library in the library catalog found here, or available on OverDrive/Libby. Please contact YA librarian Kat at kcarroll@whiteplainslibrary.org with any questions.
Would you like your first name to appear? * Required
Note: we will not publish your last name.
Please check all boxes that apply to your book: * Required
If so, please list titles and authors for the other books.
*five real sentences    *introduce the premise and main characters    *no spoilers allowed

Reviews

Tokyo Ghoul 1   by   Sui Ishida   3 stars

Genre/s:   Fantasy, Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Sui Ishida's graphic novel Tokyo Ghoul is a series about a boy named Kaneki. There has been many news about ghouls and Kaneki didn't believe they existed. But, one day Kaneki turns into a half ghoul and half human and tries to figure out how did he become like the way he is. He meets other people who are also ghouls and while he's with them he does his best to go back fully human. This graphic novel is interesting because wouldn't you know the cause of becoming a ghoul, it's strange and I wondered why and where they are coming from.



Submitted by:   

   July 29, 2021 at 6:28 pm

Demon slayer= Kimetsu no yaiba 1   by   Koyoharu Gotouge   4 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Koyoharu Gotouge's graphic novel Demon slayer= Kimetsu no yaiba. 1 is about a brother and sister, brother named Tanjiro and sister named Nezuko. Nezuko turned into a demon and Tanjiro wants to figure out how to fix this situation because the problem is that Nezuko wants to eat humans. Tanjiro gets help from the demon slayers in order to defeat the demons because he is a good boy and cares a lot (even the bad people) and he can't stay caring to the demons. I enjoyed reading the novel because every time I read the pages it makes me want to know what will happen next. There is some graphics in the novel, in case if you're sensitive to the topic of horror then I don't recommend this novel to you, other than that Demon slayer= Kimetsu no yaiba. 1 feels like you're in a adventure with Tanjiro.



Submitted by:   

   July 27, 2021 at 2:19 pm

The Promised Neverland 1   by   Kaiu Shirai   5 stars

Genre/s:   Science Fiction, Graphic Novel

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Kaiu Shirai's graphic novel The promised Neverland 1 is about three kids, Ray, Norman, and Emma. The three kids are eleven years old and are orphans, with around thirty children close enough with the age who stay at an orphanage (youngest is six and oldest is eleven). All of the kids are not related by blood and there is a lady which everyone goes by “mom” because she takes care of everyone and everything at the orphanage. Emma and Norman find a barrier that takes them to a “different world” and it seems to be a secret because the “mom” tells everyone not to go but, doesn't say why. So, they (and Ray) try to come up with a plan to see what is the “different world”. I enjoyed reading this novel because you can see what is happening to each character throughout the story and I'm excited to continue reading this since it's a series.



Submitted by:   

   July 22, 2021 at 12:58 am

The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks   by   Rebecca Skloot   5 stars

Genre/s:   Nonfiction

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot is based on a true story of a lady named Henrietta Lacks (main character). Scientists took Lack's cells, also known as HeLa cells, without permission. The cells can help treat some sickness, viruses, and drugs. Back then, there wasn't anything wrong with doctors taking parts of the body from humans to use them for experiments. But, ever since HeLa cells have done so much for the people and cells were taken away from a dead body, the Lacks family didn't know anything about the cells and what the doctors were doing to her. The Lacks family start to investigate the doctors, the hospital, and their family member Henrietta Lacks. I enjoyed reading this book because you learn what has happened in the medical field, what the scientists were doing at that time, and how the family developed after Henrietta Lacks. The fact that this book is based on a true story makes me feel more interested because whatever happened in the book is real and nothing is made up. You get to think about how much Henrietta Lacks and her family have gone through, throughout the years.



Submitted by:   

   July 19, 2021 at 12:13 am

THE THINGS THEY CARRIED   by   TIm O'Brien   4 stars

Genre/s:   Realistic Fiction, Historical Fiction, #ownvoices (the author shares the identity of the character, and writes from their own personal experience; ), Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

  Tim O’Brien’s “THE THINGS THEY CARRIED” is a masterpiece set in the period of the Vietnam war. O’Brien artistically blends fiction and truth throughout the novel in a collection of experiences, recollections and stories. “THE THINGS THEY CARRIED” literally portrays what soldiers during the war carried with them- such weapons and additional equipment – as well as the various emotions that weighed them down. These emotions included their guilt as well as the fear of the power they possessed.  O’Brien was able to convey his as well as the majority of the American soldier’s opinions towards the war. Suspense was powerfully used throughout the book which always kept the reader on their toes and had great emotional effect on the reader. O’Brien is able to give the reader an insight of the relationships between soldiers – the day to day ups and downs as well as the long term dynamics between them. Through the use of vivid descriptive language, O’Brien paints a series of images of Vietnam and the emotions associated with them. One of O’Brien’s objectives was for the legends of each of the characters in the book including himself to live forever in his writing. All in all, Tim O’Brien put together a very interesting book that cannot be missed. 



Submitted by:   

   July 14, 2021 at 10:22 pm

They Both Die at the End   by   Adam Silvera   3 stars

Genre/s:   Romance, Friendship

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The book They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera follows the last days of a boy named Mateo and a boy named Rufus. They both got a call from death-cast, a service that informs people when their last day is. In attempts to live their last day to the fullest, Rufus and Mateo go on an app and through that app they meet each other. These two complete strangers begin to form a friendship and eventual romance, bonding over the shared fact that they are both going to die soon. This book was very heartwarming and sad and I would recommend it to anyone who loves tragic romances.



Submitted by:   

   July 7, 2021 at 12:17 am

Throne of glass   by   Sarah J Mass   5 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Throne of glass by Sarah J Mass is the first book in the eight book Throne of glass series. The book follows Celaena Sardothien, a teenage assassin in Adarlan, a kingdom ruled by a ruthless and corrupt king. Throughout the kingdom, Celaena is infamous, but she stays anonymous so no one knows who she truly is.  In exchange for becoming the King's Assassin, the prince of Adarlan offers to free Celaena from the death camp she's been sentenced to. In order to do this she was train along and beat other well seasoned Assassins, theives, and mercenaries to win the competition and the title of the king's assassin. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves high fantasy. The book was amazing, and it constantly kept me on my toes with with many plot twists and mysteries.



Submitted by:   

   July 7, 2021 at 12:09 am

Clockwork Angel   by   Cassandra Clare   3 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy, Romance

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The book Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare is the first book in the Infernal devices trilogy. The book follows a race of people known as Shadowhunters, a special type of people who have special powers and are born to fight against evil. Tessa Gray, an normal orphan girl gets kidnapped and find out that she has the power to shape-shift Throughout the book, she learns to control her power and navigate the Shadowhunter world full of magic and monsters. Along the way, she makes friends Will and Jem and finally finds a family she belongs with. I would recommend this book because it is very action packed and will keep you on your toes the whole time.



Submitted by:   

   July 6, 2021 at 11:59 pm

The wicked King   by   Holly Black   3 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

The book The Wicked King is the second book in the Folk of air Trilogy. The book follows Carden, the king of Faerie and Jude, a mortal human raised in the Fae realm. After she discovers that her brother oak is the rightful heir to the crown, Jude gets close to Carden to gain power and have control over the King. While Navigating through the Politics of Faerie, she discovers that someone is trying to assassinate her. All the while saving the lives of her loved ones while maintaining firm control over the crown, she must now find the traitor and protect her own life. I would highly recommend this book to Anyone who loves fantasy as there are many aspects of  fairies in this book. This book is also great because the main character in this book is a strong mortal woman, who controls the throne even though she is deemed unfit and week because she is human in a land of Fae.



Submitted by:   

   July 6, 2021 at 11:49 pm

Rule of Wolves   by   Leigh Bardugo   4 stars

Genre/s:   Adventure, Fantasy

The book reminded me of:   

My review:   

Rule of Wolves by Leigh Bardugo is the first book in the Rule of Wolves duology. It follows the charming king of Ravka, Nikolai Lantsov. Internally, Nikolai is battling an inner demon that threatens to expose him as it continues to take over his body. Meanwhile, Nikolai has to face the ever-growing threat pose on his new-found country. Throughout this book, Nikolai and his friends go through a heroic journey to keep his and his country's image from crumbling and save his country dark forces. I would highly recommend this book. As a reader, I fell in love with the characters and the friendships made between the characters.



Submitted by:   

   July 6, 2021 at 11:29 pm