Dive into Diversity: Graphic Novels

Josh recommends some recent graphic novels featuring diverse characters and creators.

Class Act by Jerry Craft
OverDrive / Library Catalog
This companion to Newbery Award winner New Kid finds Jordan’s friend Drew encountering discrimination and confronting privilege in his eighth grade year at the prestigious Riverdale Academy Day School. Funny, moving and thought-provoking all at the same time.

Jerry Craft talks about his real-life experiences that shaped New Kid.

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer by Gillian Goerz
OverDrive / Library Catalog
Jamila Waheed and Shirley Bones learn about friendship and the desire for everyone to be able to share their own story while solving a mystery over the summer. A great read with well-written realistic characters, especially for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Svetlana Chmokva.

Goldie Vance: Larceny in La La Land by Hope Larson, Jackie Ball, Mollie Rose and Natalia Nesterenko
OverDrive / Library Catalog
If you crave the adventure and mystery of Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys, but actually want something that reflects today and the real-life broad diversity of people, look no further than Goldie Vance. Wonderfully written and illustrated, filled with great characters, this series created by Hope Larson always delivers. In this most recent volume, #5, Goldie and her friends travel to Los Angeles and find themselves framed for a crime.

Be sure to also check out Hotel Whodunit by Liliam Rivera, the first novel featuring Goldie Vance and her friends! OverDrive / Library Catalog

Twins by Varian Johnson and Shannon Wright
OverDrive / Library Catalog
Maureen and Francine are both twins and best friends, but as they get older they seem to be becoming interested in different things. Can both their sisterhood and friendship survive middle school, and each other?

Green Lantern: Legacy by Minh Lȇ and Andie Tong
OverDrive / Library Catalog
Tai Pham inherits his grandmother’s green jade ring, not knowing it is a Green Lantern power ring. A tale of beginnings and heroics and a brand new Green Lantern!

Author Minh Lȇ discusses how his family hero, his real-life grandmother, inspired Green Lantern: Legacy.

The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill
OverDrive / Library Catalog
Winner of many awards, including the Eisner Award, the top award a comic or graphic novel can receive, The Tea Dragon Society is a wonderful and charming gentle fantasy that will warm your heart and is just so overwhelmingly cute. The story of Greta, Minette, Hesekiel and Erik continues in The Tea Dragon Festival and will conclude in the soon-to-be released The Tea Dragon Tapestry.

New Zealand children’s lit site, The Sapling, discusses how very inclusive O’Neill’s Tea Dragon Society books are, and interviews the author/illustrator.

Also, Katie O’Neill invites you to “Discover Your Tea Dragon,” a fun way to learn more about the Tea Dragons from her books by pairing your zodiac sign with a dragon.

The Mystery of the Moon Tower by Fracesco Sedita, Prescott Seravdarian and Steve Hamaker
OverDrive / Library Catalog
Mysteries, puzzles and adventure for a group of kids seeking treasure during a summer they will never forget. First in The Pathfinders Society series, this book is fantastic for fans of Scooby Doo, Lumberjanes, and The Last Kids on Earth.

KidLit411 interviews Francesco Sedita and Prescott Seravdarian about The Mystery of the Moon Tower’s inspirations and advice for aspiring graphic novelists.

Doodleville by Chad Sell
OverDrive / Library Catalog
From the creator of Cardboard Kingdom, comes this new story about a group of young artists that must band together when one of their monstrous creations comes to life and starts causing havoc.

Check out this interview with Chad Sell about what drives him to write and illustrate comics!

5 Worlds, Book Four: Amber Anthem by Mark Siegel, Alexis Siegel, Xanthe Bouma, Matt Rockefeller and Boya Sun
OverDrive / Library Catalog
Described as Star Wars combined with Avatar: the Last Airbender, the 5 Worlds series is a richly developed, heartfelt outer space adventure. The most recent volume finds the heroes seeking the yellow beacon on the world of Salassandra in their quest to save the 5 worlds from the evil Mimic.

Read a great School Library Journal interview with 5 Worlds creator Mark Siegel here, about how he’s combining middle grade fantasy and important lessons in civics and civic engagement.

Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy by Rey Terciero and Bre Indigo
OverDrive / Library Catalog
This graphic retelling creates a blended family for the March sisters and perfectly settles Little Women in the contemporary world.

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.