January 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold.

Once Upon a River: A Novel by Diane Setterfield
Published: 12/4/2018 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books
“A wonderfully dark and mysterious read. Something happens one stormy winter solstice evening that triggers a chain of events that changes the lives of all the main characters. Moody and mystical. For readers who love gothic fiction like The Death of Mrs. Westaway and The Clockmaker’s Daughter.”—Melanie Liechty, Logan Library, Logan, UT

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Published: 1/8/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
“Struggling to stay afloat with a job as a makeup artist, Jessica signs up for a study, thinking she will earn some easy money. After the first two parts of the study, she gets invited to the professor’s house for more questions and more compensation. Fans of psychological thrillers won’t want to miss this one as Jessica is a compelling character and the novel will keep you reading long into the night.”—Annice Sevett, Albert Lea Public Library, Albert Lea, MN

The Au Pair by Emma Rous
Published: 1/8/2019 by Berkley
“After giving birth to Seraphine and her twin brother Danny, their mother throws herself from a cliff. 25 years later, Seraphine finds a picture that makes her question everything she thought she knew about her childhood. For fans of compelling suspense novels and family secrets.”—Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS

The Current: A Novel by Tim Johnston
Published: 1/22/2019 by Algonquin Books
“When two girls, trapped in a RAV4, fall into an icy river one dies and the other barely survives. Unanswered questions and old accusations resurface as the small Minnesota town recalls another incident ten years earlier where a girl died in the same river. For readers who love small town suspense.”—Shellie Taylor, Iredell County Public Library, Statesville, NC

 

The Dreamers: A Novel by Karen Thompson Walker
Published: 1/15/2019 by Random House
“A virus appears in the small town of Santa Lora that causes its victims to fall into a deep sleep from which they cannot wake up. While this story is about a pandemic apocalypse, it also reminds us of our humanity and how we are all connected. For fans of The Country of Ice Cream Star and The Water Knife.”—Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH

My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren
Published: 12/4/2018 by Gallery Books
“Another delightful contemporary rom-com from the author of Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating. Millie and her four male friends decide to jump into the pool of online dating together. When Millie matches with one of the friends, chaos ensues. For fans of The Kiss Quotient and The Wedding Date.”—Kelsey Hudson, Middleton Public Library, Middleton, WI

 

The Red Address Book by Sofia Lundberg
Published: 1/8/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
“A ninety-six-year-old Swedish woman reflects on her life, paging through a long-kept address book. A compelling, charming, and ultimately heartwarming read. For fans of Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk and The Japanese Lover.”—Brenda O’Brien, Woodridge Public Library, Woodridge, IL

The Suspect by Fiona Barton
Published: 1/22/2019 by Berkley
“Reporter Kate Waters pursues the story of two 18-year-olds who have gone missing in Thailand. The case takes a turn when the main suspect is Kate’s estranged son. For fans of twisty psychological suspense.”—Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

 

Unmarriageable: A Novel by Soniah Kamal
Published: 1/15/2019 by Ballantine Books
“A thoroughly enjoyable retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in modern-day Pakistan. The characters, storyline, and dialogue are true to the original while being completely fresh. For readers who enjoy a comedy of manners.”—Kristen Gramer, Lewes Public Library, Lewes, DE

Watching You: A Novel by Lisa Jewell
Published: 12/26/2018 by Atria Books
“Set in an upscale English neighborhood where everyone knows everyone and someone is always watching. When one of the residents is found murdered, the police investigation turns up long buried secrets. Told from multiple viewpoints and alternating between past and present.”—Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT

 

The Golden Tresses of the Dead: A Flavia de Luce Novel by Alan Bradley
Published: 1/22/2019 by Delacorte Press
“Follow the delightful hijinks of the precocious Flavia and her faithful Dogger as they take on their first case as private investigators. Although this is the 10th Flavia de Luce adventure, it is one of those rare mysteries you don’t have to read in series order.”—Abby Hardison, Rowan Public Library, Salisbury, NC

In An Absent Dream by Seanan McGuire
Published: 1/8/2019 by Tor.com
“Young Katherine stumbles into the Goblin Market, where order, friendship, and belonging carry a high price. The latest novella in the Wayward Children series shines just as bright as its kin, as McGuire spins a tale infused with mist-covered magic and sharp and creative storytelling.”—Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library,Huntington Station, NY

 

The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel by Marie Benedict
Published: 1/8/2019 by Sourcebooks Landmark
“A fascinating look at a famous movie star with an unexpected past: Hedy Lamarr, the Austria-born screen siren who was also a brilliant inventor. Brisk pacing and atmospheric scenes of pre-World War II Europe round out this intriguing work of historical fiction.”—Alissa Williams, Morton Public Library, Morton, IL

The Winter of the Witch: A Novel by Katherine Arden
Published: 1/8/2019 by Del Rey
“In this magnificent conclusion to the Winternight historical fantasy trilogy, Vasya risks everything to ensure that both medieval Russias–human and fey–can continue to live together. Exciting, moving, and beautifully written, this is a story readers will savor.”—Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY

 

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.