May 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold.

The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
Published: 5/7/2019 by Berkley Jove
“On the autism spectrum, Khai doesn’t feel anything for anyone. His mother recruits Esme, a young Vietnamese woman, to marry him. A realistic, humorous romance that reveals the slow path to love and a meaningful relationship. For those who loved The Kiss Quotient, The Rosie Project, and The Wedding Date.”—Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel by Kim Michele Richardson
Published: 5/7/2019 by Sourcebooks Landmark
“Blue-skinned Cussie brings books via horseback to rural, racially intolerant Kentucky in the 1930s. Her efforts demonstrate that people crave intellectual stimulation even when they are poverty stricken in a food desert. For fans of Sandra Dallas and Lee Smith.”—Courtenay Reece, Millville Public Library, Millville, NJ

The Farm: A Novel by Joanne Ramos
Published: 5/7/2019 by Random House
“What sounds like an easy way to make money while indulging in a spa-like oasis propels young pregnancy surrogates into ethically complex decisions, racial inequities, and new friendships. For those who loved The Handmaid’s Tale and Future Home of the Living God.”—Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

The Flatshare: A Novel by Beth O’Leary
Published: 5/28/2019 by Flatiron Books
“In this entertaining and humorous romance, Tiffy and Leon share a flat, but have never met. Who says you can’t fall in love if your only communication has been through Post-It notes? For fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary and Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating.”—Kelly Moore, Carrollton Public Library, Carrollton, TX

How Not to Die Alone by Richard Roper
Published: 5/28/2019 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons
“Andrew’s Council job is finding people to pay for funerals for the recently deceased, and he seems bound to a similar lonely destiny. When lively Peggy joins the staff, he begins to wonder if there’s more to life than model trains. Give to fans of Jojo Moyes, Nick Hornby, and Gail Honeyman.”—Jennifer Knight, North Olympic Public Library System, Port Angeles, Washington

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors: A Novel by Sonali Dev
Published: 5/7/2019 by William Morrow Paperbacks
“Trisha Raje is a talented neurosurgeon, from an immigrant Indian family, descended from royalty. When she meets a patient’s brother we embark on a classic tale of enemies to lovers. With likable characters and an appealing story line, I highly recommend this book. For readers who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and The Wedding Party.”—Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY

Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel by Casey McQuiston
Published: 5/7/2019 by St. Martin’s Griffin
“First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is in his last semester of university and has an antagonistic relationship with Prince Henry of Wales. But friendship and then love blossoms when they are forced to pretend to be buddies after an embarrassing altercation. For fans of a good rom-com.”—Nita Gill, Brookings Public Library, Brookings, SD

The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel by Juliet Grames
Published: 5/7/2019 by Ecco
“The life story of Italian-American Stella Fortuna is told through an interesting conceit: the times she nearly died. We follow her through an impoverished childhood in rural Italy, coming to America as a teenager, and finally wife, mother, and widow in suburban Connecticut. For fans of The Stars Are Fire and Daughter of Fortune.”—Celia Morse, Berkley Public Library, Berkley, MA

Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs
Published: 5/7/2019 by Ace
“Mercy Thompson has opened her garage again and is trying to get back to normal. Now that the Tri-Cities is neutral ground, all kinds of supernatural beings are heading her way. If you’re a Briggs fan, you’re going to love this book and look forward to the next. For fans of the Walker Papers and Weather Warden series.”—Helen Imre, Franklin Township Public Library, Somerset, NJ

Sunset Beach: A Novel by Mary Kay Andrews
Published: 5/7/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
“After her mother’s death, Drue Campbell inherits her grandparent’s beach cottage in Sunset Beach, Florida where she takes a job with her estranged father who is married to her high school frenemy. For readers who enjoyed The Identicals and Life’s a Beach.”—Evelyn Janoch, Rocky River Public Library, Rocky River, OH

Middlegame by Seanan McGuire
Published: 5/7/2019 by Tor.com
“McGuire’s standalone contemporary fantasy is a story of alchemy, mathematics, language, and two unforgettable twins. The complex story takes some time to get moving, but once it does this great, philosophically deep read becomes very difficult to put down.”—Angela Gaule Ector County Public Library, Odessa, TX

The Stone Circle by Elly Griffiths
Published: 5/7/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
“Forensic archaeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway is back puzzling out mysteries old and new in the English coastal region of Norfolk. Much appeal lies in revisiting Ruth’s delightful supporting cast of colleagues and friends. Because the book ties in with earlier installments, this is a series best read in order.”—Melissa Davidson, Staunton Public Library, Staunton, VA

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren
Published: 5/14/2019 by Gallery Books
“Olive and Ethan are enemies brought together in classic rom-com style when the honeymoon plans of their siblings (who’ve just married) take a wrong turn. The dialogue is fantastic–no one mixes sweetness, snark, and hilarity so well. Perfect for readers of Jasmine Guillory or Emma Chase.”—Shari Suarez, Genesee Districy Library, Goodrich, MI

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Evergreen, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *