July 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published in June that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold.

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman
Published: 7/9/2019 by Berkley
“Nina likes her bookish life just fine. She works in a bookstore and is on a highly competitive trivia team. She is funny and snarky and great company (says this reader). Suddenly, a father she never knew dies and leaves her with a pack of brothers and sisters and Nina may be forced out of her comfortable reading chair. For readers who enjoyed Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey and The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald.”—Eileen Curley, Hagaman Public Library, East Haven, CT

The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins
Published: 7/30/2019 by Gallery Books
“Sarah is the librarian in a small Southern town called Dove Pond. Her magic is matching the right book to the right reader at the right time in their life. Grace is a city girl, new in town and in need of a little magic herself. For readers who enjoyed The Library of Lost and Found and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry.”—Tracy Babiasz, Chapel Hill Public Library, Chapel Hill, NC

The Escape Room: A Novel by Megan Goldin
Published: 7/30/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
“Highly successful colleagues Sam, Vincent, Sylvie, and Jules are no strangers to the competitive world of high finance but after they become trapped in an elevator escape room they find themselves having to work together. For readers of Tana French, Karin Slaughter, and Harlan Coben.”—KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Published: 7/23/2019 by Del Rey
“In 1920s Mexico, a young woman unwittingly awakens a Mayan god and is pulled into his quest for vengeance. The odyssey that follows takes her through the jungles to Mexico City and the underworld as she realizes her inner strength and passion. For readers who enjoyed Uprooted and Circe.”—Emily Plagens, Allen Public Library, Allen, TX

The Lager Queen of Minnesota: A Novel by J. Ryan Stradal
Published: 7/23/2019 by Pamela Dorman Books
“A heartwarming and witty novel with a distinctly Minnesotan feel, the author follows two sisters and their grandmother who become involved in the brewing industry. For readers who loved Where’d You Go Bernadette.”—Katelyn Boyer, Fergus Falls Public Library, Fergus Falls, MN

Layover by David Bell
Published: 7/2/2019 by Berkley
“Joshua’s life has become a predictable pattern of departures and arrivals, a lot of his time spent in airports until he meets Morgan on a layover and there is an instant connection. during a layover, with whom he feels a deep connection. The next time he sees her is on the news as a missing person. For readers who liked Faithful Place by Tana French and Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker.”—Michelle Magnotta, Mamaroneck Public Library, Mamaroneck, NY

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
Published: 7/2/2019 by Dutton
“A young woman gets a job house sitting in one of New York’s oldest and most glamorous apartments. A slow-burn full of twists and turns and a shocking conclusion. For readers who enjoyed The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window.”—Megan Alabaugh, Rocky River Public Library, Rocky River, OH

The Nickel Boys: A Novel by Colson Whitehead
Published: 7/16/2019 by Doubleday
“An incredibly powerful story about an abusive boys’ reform school in the 1960s. Whitehead skillfully brings each character to life even as they suffer physical and emotional horrors. For fans of Panopticon by Jenni Fagan.”—Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL

Wanderers by Chuck Wendig
Published: 7/2/2019 by Del Rey
“A pandemic is sweeping the nation that causes affected people to sleepwalk. They cannot be awoken and family and friends must accompany them on their journey while the CDC tries to find the cause and cure. For fans of Cryptonomicon and The Windup Girl.”—Kyle Sederstrom, Overbrook Public Library, Overbrook, KS

Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Published: 7/30/2019 by Avon
“Sparks fly when the brash daughter of an earl and the bastard son of a duke are thrown together in Regency London. Strong character development and sizzling love scenes combine for a swoon-worthy read.”—Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Library, Queensboro Hill, NY

The Chelsea Girls: A Novel by Fiona Davis
Published: 7/30/2019 by Dutton
“Amid the paranoia of the Red Scare, two women forge an indelible friendship. Davis’ latest historical fiction gem highlights an important chapter of American history against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New York.”—Debbie Lease, Hillsdale Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ

Lady in the Lake: A Novel by Laura Lippman
Published: 7/23/2019 by William Morrow
“Maddie Schwartz leaves her marriage in 1960s Baltimore and finds her true calling as a reporter after discovering the body of a murdered girl. Desperate for a byline, Maddie triggers a domino effect of tragic consequences when she becomes part of the story instead.”—Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Never Have I Ever: A Novel by Joshilyn Jackson
Published: 7/30/2019 by William Morrow
“Amy’s seemingly perfect life is threatened when she’s confronted by a stranger who knows her darkest secrets. This fast-paced thrill ride hooks you from the first page.”—Terri Smith, Cornelia Library, Mt. Airy, GA

Shamed: A Kate Burkholder Novel by Linda Castillo
Published: 7/16/2019 by Minotaur Books
“An Amish grandmother is murdered, a girl with special needs is abducted, and the clock ticks on police chief Burkholder’s hopes of finding her alive. This thrilling page-turner explores the lengths one will go to save a child.”—Aubrey Parker, Charles B. Stewart-West Branch Library,Montgomery, TX

The Wedding Party by Jasmine Guillory
Published: 7/16/2019 by Berkley Jove
“Maddie and Theo love to hate each other until they find themselves together at the one place they least expected–in bed. This laugh-out-loud story is the perfect companion to Guillory’s earlier romances.”—Afton Finley, Waseca Public Library, Waseca, MN

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *