March LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Find out more here.

The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
Hoopla: Audiobook
“Caroline travels alone to London after discovering her husband’s betrayal. Looking for a distraction, she finds one while mud larking along the Thames: a small glass vial. Inspired to research its origins, Caroline uncovers a dark tale of poison and murder in the 1700s, where an apothecary owner with a unique talent, a dark past, and a keen sense of revenge meets a young girl with a curiosity that might lead her astray. A stellar debut that balances two intriguing story lines and three wonderful characters to create one page-turning story. For fans of The Clockmaker’s Daughter, Once Upon a River, and The Essex Serpent.”—Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY
NoveList read-alike: The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
The Conductors by Nicole Glover
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Hetty and Benjy meet as Underground Railroad conductors, settling in Pennsylvania where they’re known for their celestial magic. Glover does an incredible job of world building in this supernatural mystery. Her cast is almost exclusively Black, and the characters are rich, with Hetty and Benjy’s relationship showcased as a lovely progression of romantic ideals. For readers of N. K. Jemisin and Victor LaValle.”—Rachel Reddick, Denver Public Library, Denver, CO
NoveList read-alike: Buffalo Soldier by Maurice Broaddus (Library Catalog)
The Dating Plan by Sara Desai
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Daisy is shocked when she runs into Liam, who stood her up at her high school prom. To save her employer and Liam’s family legacy, they must fake an engagement and marriage and not fall in love. A whirlwind of a romcom with South Asian American and Irish American families providing background drama and entertainment. Daisy and Liam are lovably imperfect in this quick escapist read. Give to readers who liked Take a Hint, Dani Brown and The Right Swipe.”—Laura Bonds, Harris County Public Library, Houston, TX
NoveList read-alike: Accidentally Engaged by Farah Heron (Library Catalog)
Eternal by Lisa Scottoline
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print / CD Audiobook
“Set in Italy during the Fascist regime and subsequent Nazi involvement, this historical fiction, a departure for the author, is a solid dose of history told through the lives and loves of characters, personally affected by the politics. The impact of decisions and the efforts of individuals to change the course of their country and their lives are vividly portrayed. Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale.”—Carol Tuttle, Willoughby-Eastlake Public Library, Willoughby, OH
NoveList read-alike: After the Party by Cressida Connolly (Library Catalog / Hoopla)
Every Last Fear by Alex Finlay
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“This tightly plotted thriller changes perspective and travels through time to explore a family torn apart by tragedy. The arrest of the oldest Pine son for his girlfriend's murder rocked their small town, was the subject of a high profile true crime documentary, and is followed years later by an even greater tragedy. Could these events be connected? Who is really the murderer? A gripping novel for fans of Mary Kubica or Peter Swanson.”—Maggie Thomann, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
NoveList read-alike: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Float Plan by Trish Doller
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
Hoopla: Audiobook
“After the death of her fiancé, Anna decides to complete the sailing voyage they had planned, alone. This is a heartfelt story of navigating through grief, and finding oneself and a new direction in life along the way. Good for fans of Pretending and The Fifteen Wonders of Daniel Green.”—Sandra Woodbury, Burlington Public Library, Burlington, MA
NoveList read-alike: Happy People Read and Drink Coffee by Agnes Martin-Lugand (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Libertie by Kaitlyn Greenidge
Library Catalog: Print
“Libertie is a Black girl living with her mother, a doctor who helps slaves in their run to freedom. Libertie thinks her mother is herself enslaved by her work, but after she marries and moves to the Caribbean, things seem less clear. For readers who enjoyed Washington Black and Underground Railroad.”—Marie Byars, Sno Isle Public Library, Oak Harbor, WA
NoveList read-alike: Jam on the Vine by LaShonda K. Barnett (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
The Lost Village by Camilla Sten
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Set in a rural village in Sweden, where 800 inhabitants vanished in 1959, Alice and her crew set out to make a documentary about the mysterious event. The book weaves together the story of the current day documentarians with the story of the villagers of the past. For readers who enjoyed Ghost Wall and Disappearing Earth.”—Sandra Heitzman, Forest Park Public Library, Forest Park, IL
NoveList read-alike: The Burning Girls by C. J. Tudor (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Compelling and heartbreaking, this story brings together two of the most compelling characters you may ever meet. Duchess Day Radley and Walk are bound together by uneasy threads, each compelled to dig in and survive, even as they try to move beyond their pasts and what seem to be their inevitable futures. For readers who enjoyed The Good Daughter and The Roanoke Girls.”—Jennifer Ohzourk, St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, MO
NoveList read-alike: Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
The Windsor Knot by SJ Bennett
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“When a mysterious death occurs at Windsor Castle, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth and Private Secretary Rozie must solve the case when MI5 and the police head in the wrong direction. A great cast of characters and a wonderful sense of setting make a fun and entertaining read. For readers who loved Hope Never Dies and Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts.”—Jennifer Williams, Normal Public Library, Normal, IL
NoveList read-alike: Mrs. Queen Takes the Train by William M. Kuhn (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Hall of Fame Authors
The LibraryReads Hall of Fame Designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly LibraryReads list since 2013. When their third title places on the list via library staff votes, the author moves into the Hall of Fame.

Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Eve Brown thinks she’s a failure, constantly flitting from one job to another. When her parents ask her to commit to something, she runs–and ends up in a charming B&B, where the uptight owner desperately needs her help. This is a sweet, funny love story about learning to appreciate yourself.”—Beth DeGeer, Bartlesville Public Library, Bartlesville, OK
Read-alike: The Trouble Hating You by Sajni Patel (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Read-alike: The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa (Library Catalog / OverDrive)

Every Vow You Break by Peter Swanson
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Abigail deeply regrets succumbing to an illicit night with a stranger on the eve of her wedding. When her husband takes her to a mysterious island for a lavish honeymoon, she’s shocked to see the man who seduced her. What follows is a horror story that will keep readers glued to the page.”—Paul Lane, Palm Beach County Public Library, Boca Raton, FL
Read-alike: Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Read-alike: Diary of a Stalker by Electa Rome Parks (Hoopla)
The Rose Code by Kate Quinn
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Sophisticated Osla, ambitious Mab, and timid Beth become friends while working as code breakers at Bletchley Park during World War II. The secrecy of their work has lasting effects on their lives. Years later, they are forced to forgive one another to unmask a traitor.”—Nanette Donohue, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL
Read-alike: Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Read-alike: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Sunflower Sisters by Martha Hall Kelly
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print / CD Audiobook
“Kelly ends her trilogy tracing Lilac Girls protagonist Caroline Ferriday’s family with a story centered in the Civil War era. Kelly weaves her careful research into a compelling novel with fascinating depth and a nod toward the impactful role of women throughout history.”—MarySue Waterman, Westport Library, Westport, CT
Read-alike: Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Read-alike: My Name is Mary Sutter by Robin Oliveira (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Wild Sign by Patricia Briggs
Library Catalog: Print
“Mated werewolves Charles and Anna investigate a malevolent presence that has inexplicably made an entire community vanish in northern California. In this latest Alpha & Omega installment, Briggs again creates a vivid world where the commonplace and the supernatural reside together.”—Linda Tilden, Mount Laurel Public Library, Mount Laurel, NJ
Read-alike: The Last Wolf by Maria Vale (Library Catalog / OverDrive)
Read-alike: The Iron Hunt by Marjorie M. Liu (Library Catalog / Hoopla)
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *