May 2021 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Find out more here.

People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: Audiobook
“An aching slow-burn romance focused on chaotic sprite Poppy and buttoned up Alex and their twelve years of summer vacations. Set in present day Palm Springs and interspersed with flashbacks from the previous vacations, this story is full of yearning, friendship, and discussions of what it means to find a home. For fans of This Time Next Year, One Day in December, and Waiting for Tom Hanks.”—Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee Public Library, Milwaukee, WI
The Guncle by Steven Rowley
Library Catalog: Print
“‘Gay Uncle Patrick,' a reclusive TV star, takes in his niece and nephew for the summer after the death of their mother, his dear friend. As the three navigate their grief together, Patrick finds he needs the kids as much as they need him. By turns funny and poignant, this heartwarming story is great for fans of actor (and Instagram fave) Leslie Jordan and for readers who like Fredrik Backman.”—Heather Bistyga, Anderson County Library, Anderson, SC
Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau
Library Catalog: Print
“It’s 1975 and Mary Jane takes a job babysitting while all her friends are away at summer camp. The job comes with exposure to a celebrity and her addicted rock star husband and Mary Jane experiences a world very different than her own. For readers who enjoyed Be Frank with Me, Nothing to See Here, and This Tender Land.”—Jan Fisher, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
The Newcomer by Mary Kay Andrews
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Letty is on the run with her four-year-old niece, afraid she will be accused of her sister’s murder. She ends up at a beach front motel in Florida full of interesting and entertaining characters. Murder, fugitives, romance, and a great cast of characters. A perfect beach read. For readers who enjoy books by Elin Hildenbrand and Janet Evanovich.”—Sandy Ruhmann, Allen Park Public Library, Allen Park, MI
Talk Bookish to Me by Kate Bromley
Library Catalog: Print
“A must-read romance novel, this enemies to lovers contemporary romance has enough tension and sizzle to satisfy any romance reader. Bonus, the lead character is a romance writer and readers get a romance novel within a romance novel. For readers who loved Much Ado About You and The Invitation.” —Hannah Spratt, New York Public Library, New York, NY
While Justice Sleeps: A Novel by Stacey Abrams
Library Catalog: Print
“Avery's boss is a Supreme Court Justice and he is currently in a coma after naming Avery (instead of his wife) as his guardian. This situation is further complicated by the fact that the judge is a swing vote in a very important decision before the court. How well Avery knows her boss will determine the fate of both of them. For readers of John Grisham and Robert Dugoni.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Public Library, Austin, TX
The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Based on the true stories of Jewish families who utilized the sewers to escape persecution during WWII. Sadie struggles to come to terms with loss. Ella struggles to figure out where she fits in amidst the chaos. Their friendship brings them hope and purpose. For readers who enjoyed The Rose Code, Our Darkest Night.”—Kate Eminhizer, Pamunkey Regional Library, Hanover, VA
Hall of Fame Authors
The LibraryReads Hall of Fame Designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly LibraryReads list since 2013. When their third title places on the list via library staff votes, the author moves into the Hall of Fame.

Hour of the Witch by Chris Bohjalian
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print / CD audiobook
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“In Puritan New England, Mary Deerfield is trapped in a marriage with a violent man. She has the audacity to file for divorce in a time where women were accused of witchcraft for any perceived slight or behavior. This book is filled with strong women and speaks to the witch hunts of today.”—Lisa Casper, Douglas County Libraries, Highlands Ranch, CO

Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: Audiobook
“A kidnapped child, two dead women, affairs,secrets, and a malpractice suit seem like a lot to pack into one book, but Kubica skillfully weaves the plot to create a perfect level of intrigue in this twisty suspense tale.”—Sandra Woodbury, Burlington Public Library, Burlington MA
Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Ryland Grace wakes up alone on a spaceship with amnesia. Gradually he remembers being on a one-way journey to save Earth from a dying sun. Then he encounters Rocky, an engineer on a similar mission. Hard to put down and impossible to forget, this is ingenious science fiction to celebrate and share.”—Brenda O’Brien, Woodridge Public Library, Woodridge, IL
The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“A statistician and geneticist are an unlikely match in a DNA-based dating app in this latest breezy romance from Lauren. What follows is sure to pull on readers’ heartstrings and even get them interested in the science of genetics.”—Melissa Stumpe, Johnson County Public Library, Franklin, IN
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.