June 2021 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love. Find out more here.

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“A phenomenal read with well-developed diverse characters and a unique, compelling plot. For August, romance is way at the bottom of her to-do list. Then she meets mysterious Jane, who's always on the same subway car no matter where or when August gets on. Before she knows it, they are a thing, with a circle of friends to share their life. There’s only one catch: Jane isn't really here. For fans of Meryl Wisner, Morgan Rogers, and Jasmine Guillory.”Heather Cover, Homewood Library, Birmingham, AL

The Maidens by Alex Michaelides
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“Tragedy dogs Mariana’s footsteps as she struggles to recover from the deaths of her husband, sister, brother-in-law, and father. Then, in her beloved Cambridge, young girls are being killed. Fearing for her niece, Mariana is determined to find the murderer, and in a twisted plot discovers that she doesn't know who to believe, including herself. For readers who liked The Sea of Lost Girls and The Secret History.”—Courtenay Reece, Millville Public Library, Millville, NJ

The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot by Marianne Cronin
Library Catalog: Print
“In a Glasgow hospital, two dying patients, one a teen and one much older, begin an art project to chronicle their lives. This delightful ‘Odd Couple' pair, along with the hospital chaplain and a gaggle of well-meaning staff, help Lenni live her best life through Margot's stories and show what really is important. For readers who love Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

The Other Black Girl by Zakiya Dalila Harris
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“Nella, an editorial assistant at Wagner Books, is excited when another Black girl is hired at her publishing company. But after a mysterious note turns up on her desk that warns her to ‘Leave Wagner. Now,' she is left questioning who would want her gone. Provocative and suspenseful, this genre-bending book is perfect for fans of When No One Is Watching and the movie Get Out.”—Erin Shea, Ferguson Library, Stamford, CT
Our Woman in Moscow by Beatriz Williams
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“A spy novel set in Europe during and after WWII featuring twin sisters, Ruth and Iris. A cat and mouse game of intrigue where it is often hard to tell not only who is guilty or innocent, but also, who is who? Give this one to readers who enjoy Kate Quinn's brave female characters.”—Gail Christensen, Kitsap Regional Library, Bremerton, WA
The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict & Victoria Christopher Murray
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“Both history and homage to The Morgan Library, one of the world’s greatest private libraries. It is also the story of a young African-American woman named Belle posing as a white woman of Portuguese descent. For fans of Fiona Davis’ historical novels.”—Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ
To Sir, With Love by Lauren Layne
Library Catalog: Print
“A modern take on You've Got Mail set in New York City. Gracie is running her family's champagne boutique while Sebastian and his family are trying to buy out the building. The results are a meet-cute times two that would certainly make Nora Ephron proud. For fans of Jennifer Cruisie and Talia Hibbert.”—Amy Mehrle, Gwinnett County Public Library, Dacula, GA
The Woman They Could Not Silence: One Woman, Her Incredible Fight for Freedom, and the Men Who Tried to Make Her Disappear by Kate Moore
Library Catalog: Print
“In 1860, Packard was committed to an insane asylum by her husband with no evidence of any condition other than she disagreed with him on some issues and spoke her mind. Moore deftly presents Packard’s story of her confinement, subsequent trial, and crusade to improve women’s legal standing. Give this book to those interested in stories of trailblazing women, legal thrillers, and even true crime.”—PJ Gardiner, Wake County Public Library, Raleigh, NC
Dream Girl by Laura Lippman
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“Poor Gerry Anderson: esteemed novelist, confined to his high rise after a freak accident, besieged with assistants and badgered by his ex. Gerry sees himself as a victim, but not all agree, and someone is taking murderous measures to bring him to task. Who’ll outsmart whom in this game of cat and mouse?”—Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD
Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“Four celebrity children of Mick Riva, a famous singer,throw a massive party that ends in a fire and leaves family secrets exposed. Reid skillfully goes back and forth in time to fill in the background story of the entire Riva family, beautifully bringing each character to life.”—Cathy Branciforte, Ramsey Free Public Library, Ramsey, NJ
The Night Hawks by Elly Griffiths
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“In the thirteenth Ruth Galloway mystery, the forensic archeologist returns to familiar ground in Norfolk, where she’s accepted a post at a local university. A dead body is found nearby and soon Dr. Galloway is back on the case in a satisfying story full of surprise twists and familiar faces.”—Meredith Snepp, Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, Topeka, KS
The Road Trip by Beth O'Leary
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Exes Dylan and Addie are on their way to a friend’s wedding,and their rocky relationship is traced through alternating POVs from past and present. With interesting character development and several genuinely funny moments, this is a perfect read for your own summer road trip.”—Jennifer Sullivan, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WA
Survive the Night by Riley Sager
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / audiobook
“In the 1990s, Charlie, a traumatized woman who sees life like a movie, heads home from college. After agreeing to share a ride with a stranger, she begins to fear that she’s in danger. With heart-pounding suspense, nostalgic film references, and a locked room setting, this is a fun throwback thriller.”—Vanessa Phillips, Pelion Branch Library, Pelion, SC
When Stars Collide by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Quarterback Thad and opera star Olivia embark on a weeks-long PR campaign for an upscale watch company. Both successful in their careers, they each have a strong sense of themselves, which makes for are freshingly toned down take on the hero-to-the-rescue trope in this unputdownable read.”—Janet Schneider, Peninsula Public Library, Lawrence, NY
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *