September 2021 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive/Libby: eBook / audiobook
“After dying of a heart attack, Wallace ends up in Charon’s Crossing Tea and Treats, a shop run by Hugo the ferryman, whose job is to help people come to terms with their death and cross over. Wallace learns and grows, becoming better in death than in life. For readers who enjoy character-driven, humorous, and heartrending stories and fans of A Man Called Ove, This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance, and Less.” —Andrea Roberts, Westhampton Free Library, Westhampton Beach, NY
The Charm Offensive by Alison Cochrun
OverDrive/Libby: eBook
“Charlie signed up for the reality dating show to rebrand his image. Little did he know he would fall for his producer, Dev. Can Dev and Charlie create the picture-perfect romance on screen, or will their behind-the-scenes romance derail both of their career plans? For fans of reality romance, One To Watch, and Something to Talk About.”—Kari Bingham-Gutierrez, Olathe Public Library, Olathe, KS
Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print / CD audiobook
“Several main storylines, all connected to a “lost” ancient Greek manuscript, are set in15th century Constantinople, present day Idaho, and a spaceship in the future. Much of the beauty of this novel is in watching the pieces slowly come together to tell an eternal story that is both heartbreaking and hopeful. For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, and Cloud Atlas.”—Jenifer May, Secaucus Public Library, Secaucus, NJ
Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law by Mary Roach
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive/Libby: eBook
“Roach once again proves that she is one of the best pop science writers out there. From door knobs to divine intervention, with some lasers and effigies thrown in for fun, she chronicles the push and pull of the human/wildlife struggle for co-existence. You will laugh, you will likely cry, and you'll never look at Indian elephants quite the same way. For fans of Bill Bryson and Sarah Vowell.”—Marianne Kruppa, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN
Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead
Library Catalog: Print / Large Print / CD audiobook
OverDrive/Libby: eBook / audiobook
“Read if you want a brilliantly plotted heist novel set in 1960s New York. The Harlem setting with its creeping gentrification is a significant part of the story. For readers who enjoyed Deacon King Kong and Black Bottom Saints.—Jennifer Schultz, Fauquier County Public Library, Warrenton, VA
The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive/Libby: eBook / audiobook
“In a boarded-up house on a remote street live recluse Ted, his daughter Lauren, Dee (sister of a long-missing girl), and Olivia, a Bible-quoting cat. Wonderfully eerie and twisted psychological horror, with an ending you’re sure you’ve read before (until you realize you haven’t). For fans of Stephen Graham Jones and Shirley Jackson.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
The Man Who Died Twice by Richard Osman
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive/Libby: eBook
“The competent senior quartet of The Thursday Murder Club returns, this time tracking down stolen diamonds while dealing with a troublesome ex-husband, a local drug queenpin, the arrival of the mafia, and a growing number of murders. An utter delight. For fans of The Postscript Murders and the Flavia de Luce mysteries.”—Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA

Never Saw Me Coming by Vera Kurlan
Library Catalog: Print
“A trio of psychopaths attending a Washington D.C. college take part in a study to see if they can be taught to live productively. When a murderer targets campus, they need to work together to determine if they’re among the hunted. This is a jaw-dropping, read-in-one-sitting thriller. For readers of Gillian Flynn and Caroline Kepnes.”—Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD
No Gods, No Monsters by Cadwell Turnbull
Library Catalog: Print
“As creatures from myth and legend reveal themselves to be real, we’re reminded that people often are the actual monsters. Turnbull’s prose is gorgeous and lush, using contemporary fantasy as a lens to examine real-world oppression and injustice. For fans of Victor LaValle, Tade Thompson, and Marlon James.”—Carol Ann Tack, Merrick Library, Merrick, N.Y.
The Last Graduate by Naomi Novik
Library Catalog: Print
“El and her friends start their senior year, and if their fix worked, they should have a fighting chance against the maleficaria, beasts that feast on graduating students. But the school seems to be out to get El, as she's suddenly the only one being targeted by mals. Recommended for grown up fans of fantasy school stories that would appreciate the darker side of this one.”—Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA
No Words by Meg Cabot
Library Catalog: Print
“In the 3rd installment in Meg Cabot's Little Bridge Island series, readers get an inside look at the local Book Festival through the eyes of Jo Wright, a popular and prolific children's book author who is confronting her literary nemesis, Will Price. The sunshine and sea air may change their relationship for the better! A super cute offering for Cabot fans!”—Jessica Breslin, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Bay Village, OH
Portrait of a Scotsman by Evie Dunmore
Library Catalog: Print
“A forced marriage, an assumed affair, and a trip north to Scotland bring about multiple revelations between Hattie, a radical bluestocking, and Lucian, a self-made Scotsman. In this open-door romance, they learn to define what is important to both their emotional and sexual relationship. Dunmore does an incredible job of weaving in political and historical issues.”—Sarah Milner, Charleston County Public Library,Charleston, SC
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *