October 2021 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

All The Feels by Olivia Dade
Library Catalog: Print
“Alex is an actor on a Game of Thrones-type TV show entering its final season. Lauren’s job is to keep him out of trouble. Their relationship develops over forced proximity, a road trip, and tons of fanfic tropes (only one bed!). This steamy romance, with flawed, genuine characters and sensitive treatment of mental health and body issues, is a delight from start to finish. For fans of Spoiler Alert, Girl Gone Viral, and One To Watch.” —Lauren Mitchell, Neenah Public Library, Neenah, WI
Cackle by Rachel Harrison
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Annie is floundering after an unexpected breakup and a subsequent move to a small, quirky town. Her new friend Sophie is a little strange, but Annie is so happy to have someone who has chosen her that she ignores her concerns. This delightfully creepy fall story will work well for those who like paranormal fiction and light horror, and fans of The Year of the Witching and The Deep.” —Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, WI
Death at Greenway by Lori Rader-Day
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“In this departure from Rader-Day’s usual thrillers, two young women, hired as nurses to care for a group of children, are evacuated to Agatha Christie’s country estate during WWII. Then a dead body shows up, and suddenly there's no telling what is safe and who can be trusted. For fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny.” —Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
The Death of Jane Lawrence by Caitlin Starling
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
Jane, a sensible young woman, decides that she must get married. Her first choice is Dr. Lawrence, but she soon discovers his dark, terrifying secrets and becomes engulfed in a tangled mystery of magic, ghosts, demons, and bizarre rituals. A well-written story for fans of gothic fantasy and horror like Gideon the Ninth and Mexican Gothic.” —Sandra Allen, South Community Library, St. Petersburg, FL
Last Girl Ghosted by Lisa Unger
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Wren meets Adam on a dating app, and they seem to hit it off. After she tells him a secret, though, he ghosts her. She refuses to let it go and starts searching for him. What she finds is shocking, but she can match him in the secret department. Chilling, twisty, and hard to put down. Give to fans of Ghosted and The Couple Next Door.” —Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Goodrich, MI
The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles
Library Catalog: Print / LP / CD Audiobook
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“In 1952, castoffs from a Nebraska juvenile detention camp embark on a road trip that takes them in different directions than initially intended. There’s so much genuine sweetness and aching loss in this exuberant book full of characters you’ll care about deeply. For fans of John Irving and Ann Patchett.” —Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR
Nothing But Blackened Teeth by Cassandra Khaw
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“This short, creepy haunted house tale, brimming with Japanese folklore, cleverly reveals the monstrousness in ordinary human callousness–we’re awful not from horrendous actions or beliefs, but because we just react and shout each other down. For fans of My Heart is a Chainsaw and The Toll.” —Matthew Galloway, Anythink Libraries, Thornton, CO
Once More Upon a Time by Roshani Chokshi
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“In this classic fairytale with a twist, a prince and princess who became a cursed king and queen are given a second chance at a future. The storyline and characters are engaging, but it’s the beautiful, flowing writing that really stands out. Recommended for readers of Stardust and Kill the Farmboy.” —Sandra Woodbury, Burlington Public Library, Burlington, MA
Payback's a Witch by Lana Harper
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Emmy reluctantly returns to her hometown to serve as arbiter of a magical tournament. But the town now seemingly has much more to offer, including a gorgeous witch. Will she be enough incentive for Emmy to stay? Romance and a well-developed magical system make this perfect for fans of TJ
Klune and Seanan McGuire.” —Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, VA
A Spindle Splintered by Alix E. Harrow
Library Catalog: Print
“Harrow delights with a queer fractured fairy tale novella. Zinnia Grey, forever obsessed with the Sleeping Beauty story, gets a spindle for her 21st birthday. When she pricks her finger, she’s transported to another dimension and finds a princess who'd rather not marry the dashing prince. For fans of Naomi Novik and Margaret Atwood.” —Jill Minor, Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, VA
The Book of Magic by Alice Hoffman
Library Catalog: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“If you want a deep story about women, mothers, daughters and love in all its forms, look no further. We follow the Owens family as they try to break the curse that kept them from loving freely. This is a beautiful ending for these characters readers have grown to love. For fans of The Orphan Witch and Cackle.” —Kris Hickey, Columbus Metropolitan Library, Columbus, OH
A Line to Kill by Anthony Horowitz
Library Catalog: Print / LP
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Ex-D.I. Daniel Hawthorne and his sidekick Anthony Horowitz face a locked-island murder at an exclusive literary festival on the island of Alderney. The author's subtle humor and phrasing shines in this latest book in the Hawthorne & Horowitz series, which is full of brilliant misdirection, beautifully set-out clues, and a diabolically clever denouement. Readers who enjoy English detective stories that overwhelm you with characters and plot devices will be thrilled.” —Jane Easterly, Galesburg Public Library, Galesburg, IL
Oh William! by Elizabeth Strout
Library Catalog: Print / LP / CD Audiobook
“Readers of I Am Lucy Barton will delight in the chance to revisit the character. The reflections on life, love and marriage are conveyed in Ms. Strout’s conversational yet concise writing. Readers will feel like they are having a personal discussion with Strout in their minds. For fans of Marilynne Robinson and Ann Patchett.” —Carol Tuttle, Willoughby-Eastlake Public Library, Willoughby, OH
The Vanished Days by Susanna Kearsley
Library Catalog: Print
“In 1707 Scotland, Adam is given the task of proving or disproving Lily’s claim that she should receive a widow's pension. Political unrest, strong women, a hint of romance and danger adds up to a sweeping historical saga. This is the book to read if you love Diana Gabaldon and the Sara Donati series.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
Well Matched by Jen DeLuca
Library Catalog: Print
“When Mitch asks April to pose as his girlfriend for an upcoming family event, you immediately know where this is going. If you’re a fan of Lyssa Kay Adams or Tessa Bailey, then you’ll enjoy this light, feel-good romance!”—Rosanna Johnson, Chandler Public Library, Chandler, AZ
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.