January 2022 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

The Maid by Nita Prose
Library Collection: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“As a maid in a posh hotel, Molly is very proud of her work and the care she takes of the guests, even though she often has difficulty navigating social cues. When she finds a wealthy guest dead, she never imagines she has the keys to uncover a killer, and finds, after the death of her beloved Gran, there are many people willing to help her. For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and How Lucky.”—Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ
The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections by Eva Jurczyk
Library Collection: Print
“When the director of the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections suffers a stroke, Liesl is put in charge. Then a newly acquired manuscript goes missing, and Liesl’s leadership is questioned. A fast read that features older and imperfect characters, and addresses mental illness. For fans of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore and The Lions of Fifth Avenue.”—Alison Zaya, Lowell Library, Lowell, MA
Electric Idol by Katee Robert
Library Collection: Print
“A fantastic, modern retelling of the old myth of Psyche and Eros. Their romance is lovely, exploring the trope of fake relationships and forced marriage while both characters are struggling to make it out alive. For those who loved Neon Gods and Lore Olympus.”—Brenna Timm, High Plains Library District, Greeley, CO
A Flicker in the Dark by Stacy Willingham
Library Collection: Print
“Chloe knows what it’s like to be judged and whispered about, and how it feels to have your family torn apart by a serial killer: your own father. Now on the 20th anniversary of the murders, bodies start turning up, and she finds herself in the middle of the investigation. Unique, riveting, and thrilling. For fans of Jennifer McMahon and Laura Lippman.”—Shellie Taylor, Iredell County Library, Statesville, NC
Must Love Books by Shauna Robinson
Library Collection: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“An inspiring romcom debut that tackles the question “Are you happy?” After five years of working for a publisher, Nora gets a pay cut instead of an expected promotion. She decides to work freelance on the side for a competitor, which leads to a hectic juggling of business and personal relationships. For fans of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill and Beach Read.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Library, Austin, TX
Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins
Library Collection: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“When Lux and her boyfriend agree to ferry two women to a beautiful island near Hawaii, it seems like the perfect refuge for Lux, who’s still grieving her mother’s death. But then more people join them on the island and they find danger lurking everywhere. Give this inventive slow-burn thriller to fans of Ruth Ware and Riley Sager.”—Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH
The Roughest Draft by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka
Library Collection: Print
“In this bookish romance, two estranged co-authors are pressured into fulfilling the last book on their contract after their relationship goes haywire. It's always fun to read about the writing/publishing process, and there’s great chemistry between the leads. For fans of Christina Lauren and Emily Henry.”—Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, WI
The School for Good Mothers by Jessamine Chan
Library Collection: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“When recently-divorced Frida leaves her daughter home alone, she’s sentenced to a reeducation center where she must prove she's a good mom by bonding with a lifelike doll. This chilling dystopian novel highlights how performative and competitive parenting can be; for readers of The Handmaid’s Tale and Klara and the Sun.”—Elizabeth Zielinski, Olathe Public Library, Olathe, KS
Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon
Library Collection: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook
“Ari and Russell scheme to get their feuding divorced bosses back together, Parent Trap-style, and regain peace in the workplace. Instead, they find love. A touching, surprisingly weighty romance, exploring issues of depression and body image and incorporating glimpses of Jewish faith. For fans of Get a Life, Chloe Brown and The Matzah Ball.”—Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, VA
The Accomplice by Lisa Lutz
Library Collection: Print
OverDrive & Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“In an expertly crafted mystery, sly in tone, and strongly characterdriven with complex personalities, Luna sets out to discover who murdered the wife of Owen, her best friend from college. Unexpected twists, red herrings, and secrets unite in a completely satisfying read. For fans of Megan Miranda, Wendy Walker, and Lexie Elliott”—Kelly Moore, Carrollton Public Library, Carrollton, TX
Her Hidden Genius by Marie Benedict
Library Collection: Print
“This story takes us to the lab and shows us the internal and external struggles of Rosalind Franklin, trailblazer and a meaningful contributor to DNA research. She must deal with the objections of her family and the jealous and mean-spirited fellow scientists. For fans of The Rose Code.”—Laura Downes, EC Scranton Library, Madison, CT
The Last House on the Street by Diane Chamberlain
Library Collection: Print
“After her husband’s accidental death, Kayla mourns in the family dream home, but her elderly new neighbor draws her into the house’s history in 1965 North Carolina. This terrific novel has it all: well-rounded characters; dual time periods for suspense; and an age-old mystery. For fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult.”—Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT
Where the Drowned Girls Go by Seanan McGuire
Library Collection: Print
“Cora transfers from Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children to another boarding school for children who have traveled to fantasy worlds. This is in the comfort read territory of a lengthy, excellent series – with lots of emotion and explorations of hard themes, but it took a surprising turn and opened up the world even more! Readalikes: Drowned Country or A Deadly Education.”—Matthew Galloway, Anythink Libraries, Thornton, CO
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *