March 2022 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

Four Aunties and a Wedding by Jesse Q. Sutanto
Library Collection: Print
“The Chan family is back! Meddy Chan is getting married, and the wedding planners are perfect–until Meddy overhears the wedding photographer talking about murdering someone at the reception. Her aunties spring into action, setting into motion a series of madcap misadventures intended to save Meddy's special day. A charming combo of close-knit family, humor, and light mystery; great for fans of Mia P. Manansala and Jade Chang.”—Nanette Donohue, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL

A Brush With Love by Mazey Eddings
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“This debut romance set at a dental school includes some wonderful laugh-out-loud moments and also those that brought me to tears. Harper's anxiety is portrayed truthfully and tenderly, and Dan has some baggage too. For fans of The Happy Ever After Playlist and The Bride Test.”—Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, WI

The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“As the Covid-19 pandemic spreads across the U.S., the only job Jamie can find is delivering food, until he begins to work for a secret NGO preserving large animals. What Jamie didn't know is just how large. Scalzi has taken creatures portrayed as monsters in the movies and made us care, with plenty of his usual wit and humor. For fans of Jurassic Park, Devolution, and Jeff VanderMeer.”—Dan Brooks, Wake County Public Libraries, Raleigh, NC

The League of Gentlewomen Witches by India Holton
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“In this sequel to The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels, Charlotte is one serious witch who knows via prophecy that she will one day lead the Wicken League. But when a handsome Irish pirate catches her eye, she may bring the wrath of the entire clan of witches down on her. Filled with wit and an intriguing enemy-to-lovers romance. For fans of Jane Austen and Evie Dunmore.”—Courtney Hill, Charleston County Public Library, Charleston, SC

Mr. Wrong Number by Lynn Painter
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“A humorous, contemporary romcom. Olivia’s life has been a series of freak accidents and misdeeds. After she accidentally sets her home on fire, she moves in with her brother and his bestie Colin. Things start looking up when a misdial turns into flirty and fun texting with Mr. Wrong Number. Guess who that turns out to be? Great for fans of Falon Ballard, Sophie Sullivan, or Sara Desai.”—Laura Eckert, Clermont County Public Library, Milford, OH

The Night Shift by Alex Finlay
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“On New Year’s Eve 1999, four teenage girls working at a New Jersey video store are brutally attacked. Fifteen years later an almost identical crime occurs. Is it the same killer? This second installment following FBI agent Sarah Keller is a quick read with several fun twists and turns. A fast-paced thriller for readers of Final Girls and Dark Places.”—Jayme Oldham, Highland Park Public Library, Highland Park, IL
The Suite Spot by Trish Doller
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“Single mom Rachel loses her job at an upscale Florida hotel and decides to make a fresh start halfway across the country with a new gig and a moody but handsome boss. The characters are mature, the setting is lovely, and there’s just enough steam to keep things interesting. For fans of Beth O’Leary, Julie Murphy, and Sarah Morgenthaler.”—Sandra Woodbury, Burlington Public Libary, Burlington, MA
Sundial by Catriona Ward
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“Rob is trapped in a loveless marriage and worries about her daughter Callie’s increasingly disturbed behavior. Rob takes Callie to her own childhood home in hopes of helping her, but to do so she must reveal her family's dark past. Full of mind-blowing twists, this psychological horror tale is for readers of The Cabin at the End of the World and The Drowning Kind.”—Blinn Sheffield, Greenwood-Leflore Public Library, Greenwood, MS
Under Lock & Skeleton Key by Gigi Pandian
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“Young magician Tempest Raj returns home to her eccentric family’s enchanted compound after finding herself out of work. Soon Tempest stumbles across a body and is faced with solving two mysteries: finding the killer and learning more about her own mother’s disappearance. Fans of Agatha Christie and John Dickson Carr will enjoy this fresh take on a locked-room mystery.”—Patricia Uttaro, Rochester Public Library, Rochester, NY
What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
Libby: Audiobook
“A carjacking involving a seemingly perfect family from the Philadelphia suburbs launches a suspenseful tale of bad guys, good guys, good bad guys, and bad good guys. With enough red herrings to fill a smorgasbord, this book about grief, corruption, and family will appeal to fans of Iris Johansen, John Grisham, and Wanda M. Morris.”—Lois Gross, Hoboken Public Library, Hoboken, NJ
The Book of Cold Cases by Simone St. James
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“True crime blogger Shea finds herself swept up in the mystery surrounding Beth Greer, a woman acquitted of two cold case murders in Claire Lake, Oregon. St. James's thriller has a heart and soul with an ending that feels meaningful. For readers who enjoyed Home Before Dark.”—Hannah Baumgartner, Gates Public Library, Rochester, NY
The Diamond Eye by Kate Quinn
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
“World War II Russian sniper Lyudmila makes a name for herself as “Lady Death,” but after getting injured she is sent to D.C. to convince the USA to assist the USSR. A nonlinear structure builds suspense between two timelines. Quinn always writes well-researched novels with great characters. For readers of The Unwomanly Face of War: An Oral History of Women in World War II and War of the Rats.”—Christina Orlandos, Springfield-Greene County Public Library, Springfield, MO
French Braid by Anne Tyler
Library Collection: Print / Large Print / CD Audiobook
Libby: Audiobook
“Tyler provides a clear and uncensored view into the Garrett family. The conversations and the different characters are so realistic. The nuanced relationships that are full of love and yet uncertain and fragile – just as many of our own family relationships can be.”—Michelle Williams, Carlsbad City Library, Carlsbad, CA
The Golden Couple by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Marissa has had a one-night affair and will do anything to save her marriage to Matthew, so they go to Avery, an unconventional therapist. Over eight sessions all three have secrets revealed. These authors are good at misdirection and giving a ‘happy' ending …but it might not be the one readers expected.”—Kimberley McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
Hook, Line, and Sinker by Tessa Bailey
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Production assistant Hannah comes back to the small coastal town where her sister now lives to work on a film, but has to room with fisherman Fox, the local player. She’s off limits because she’s his captain’s sister-in-law, but it’s only a matter of time before sparks fly! For fans of Lyssa Kay Adams and Susan Mallery.”—Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH
Nine Lives by Peter Swanson
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“This psychological thriller is about a list of nine names including FBI agent Jessica Winslow. The first to die is an old man with the list found near his body, and the FBI investigation begins. The author keeps everyone guessing before planting the twist he is known for.”—Wendy Paige, Shelby County Public Library, Shelbyville, IN
One Italian Summer by Rebecca Serle
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“After her mother Carol dies, Katy escapes to Positano on the dream trip they were supposed to take. When she arrives, she meets a 30 year old version of Carol, and discovers what she really wants out of life. A captivating read that makes you want to jump on a plane to Italy and rediscover the magic. For readers of The Butterfly’s Daughter and The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry.”—Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico Cty Public Library, Henrico, VA
Categories: Authors & Books and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.