April 2022 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“In the 50s and early 60s when women were viewed as little more than chattel for men’s convenience, Elizabeth Zott had the temerity to become a chemist. With complex and wonderful characters, her story is funny, sad, enraging, hopeful, and will have readers cheering for every character and all women everywhere. For fans of Where'd You Go Bernadette?, The Rosie Project, and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”—Judy G. Sebastian, Eastham Public Library, Eastham, MA

The Good Left Undone by Adriana Trigiani
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
“Following the lives of various generations of the Cabrelli family, Trigiani takes readers through the 1920s, World War II, and modern day Italy and Scotland. With descriptive language and well-drawn characters, each generation's story is woven seamlessly into the next. For fans of Love and Ruin and The Guest Book. ”—Janet Makoujy, New City Library, New City, NY

I'll Be You by Janelle Brown
Library Collection: Print
“Sam and Elli, identical twin sisters and former television stars, have their issues. Sam is a recovering addict, and Elli has been taken in by a cult. But they are quite likable, and the story is totally engaging, a bit suspenseful, and includes well developed plot points. Give to fans of The Good Sister and The Girl in the Mirror.”—Evelyn Cunningham, Norwalk Public Library, Norwalk, CT
Insomnia by Sarah Pinborough
Library Collection: Print
“Emma has the perfect career, husband, and family. She also has a secret that is about to catch up with her. She is turning 40 and slowly spiraling out of control as the past creeps closer. Is her insomnia touching her with insanity, or is she about to relive what she has been trying to hide all these years? For fans of The End of Her and Mrs. March. ”—Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS
To Marry and to Meddle by Martha Waters
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“After six seasons, Emily's only suitor is a gambling house owner whose father owes a lot of money. Fortunately, Julian wants to marry her to elevate him in society, which will lead to more respectable people coming to his theater. He proposes a marriage of convenience, and of course, love has to find its way. A fun, witty romance for fans of Bridgerton and A Rogue of One’s Own.”—Claire Sherman, Clearwater Countryside Library, Clearwater, FL
The Memory Librarian and Other Stories of Dirty Computer by Janelle Monae
Library Collection: Print
“These science fiction stories are set in a universe adjacent to the one featured in acclaimed actor/musician Monáe’s concept albums and offer hope when despair is at its ripest. Tales of invented homes, found families, hard choices, and the exhausting work of imagining a better future jump off the page. For fans of Octavia Butler and Rivers Solomon.”—Krista Feick, Columbus Metropolitan Library, Columbus, OH
Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li
Library Collection: Print
“Li’s debut novel is a fun heist book focusing on five Chinese-American college students recruited to steal artwork from Western museums and return them to China. The book looks at issues of diaspora, colonization, and the character’s different relationships with culture and identity. Give to readers who liked The Verifiers and Skin Deep.”—Allie Williams, Camarillo Library, Camarillo, CA
Sister Stardust by Jane Green
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
“Teen Claire leaves England for Marrakech and falls in with charismatic socialite Talitha Getty and her coterie of rock stars, fashion icons, and millionaires amid a buffet of sex, drugs, and alcohol. Fans of Daisy Jones and the Six will find much to love in this book, beautifully told in a manic pace that takes you down the rabbit hole of the swinging ’60s.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
Take My Hand by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Library Collection: Print
“A well-paced, wrenching book about the reproductive rights of Blacks and the poor in the mid 20th century. The story moves back and forth in time with fully drawn characters, giving the reader a view of the consequences of the health care system's policies and fresh outrage at the wrongs perpetrated upon Black women. For readers of Celeste Ng and Rebecca Skloot.”—Leona Arthen, The Worthington Library, Worthington, OH
The Wedding Crasher by Mia Sosa
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“After Solange stops Dean’s wedding of convenience, they start a mutually beneficial fake relationship: Dean can make partner at his law firm and Solange can get her meddlesome family off her case. With heart, laughs, and characters you’ll fall in love with, this follow up to The Worst Best Man is perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Talia Hibbert.”—Jillian Hayes, Queens Public Library, Jamaica, NY
The Children on the Hill by Jennifer McMahon
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Switching between two children in 1978 living with their grandma, who brings home a strange girl, and now when podcaster Izzy goes to a town dealing with a missing girl and monster sightings, this modern take on Frankenstein has a delicious twist at the end. This novel is an all nighter!”—Terri Smith, Cornelia Habersham County Library, Mt. Airy, GA
The No-Show by Beth O'Leary
Library Collection: Print
“It’s Valentine’s Day, and three women are stood up–by the same guy. The story is told from the perspectives of the women, and their stories weave together seamlessly. The characters are delightful! Sure to please both existing fans and those new to this author.”—Karen Clements, Lake Villa District Library, Lindenhurst, IL
Part of Your World by Abby Jimenez
Library Collection: Print
“Jimenez delivers a powerful romance about overcoming domestic abuse. Alexis must decide if she will follow love and happiness or give in to family tradition and emotional abuse. Over the course of the novel, she learns to trust herself again, and finds her true calling. For fans of The Road to Rose Bend, Like Lovers Do, and Act Your Age, Eve Brown.”—Jennifer Davidson, Richardson Public Library, Richardson, TX
Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel
Library Collection: Print / Large Print / CD Audiobook
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“In 2400, Gaspery works at the Time Institute where he investigates the nature of reality. This book pieces together the human experience beautifully. A compelling read for time travel and sci-fi fans. The characters and insights about living through a pandemic made this a page turner! For fans of Cloud Cuckoo Land and Recursion.”—Andie Conn, Mid-Continent Public Library, Kansas City, MO
The Younger Wife by Sally Hepworth
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“This domestic thriller ratchets up the suspense from the beginning and never lets go. It opens at a wedding where something awful took place. The story backtracks as we learn about all the members of the family. Good character development with lots of twists to propel the story.”—Debbie Lease, Hillsdale Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ
Categories: Authors & Books and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.