May 2022 LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

Book of Night by Holly Black
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Charlie is a hot mess. The more she tries to get on the straight and narrow, the more things fall apart. Due to childhood trauma, she trusts only herself, and maybe her shadow. But in a world where shadows can be altered, stolen, and weaponized, she has to be wary. Lots of atmospheric world building and stage setting, and perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Neil Gaiman, and V.E. Schwab.—Emily Plagens, Allen Public Library, Allen, TX
The Book Woman's Daughter by Kim Michele Richardson
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
hoopla: eBook
“Cussy Mary’s daughter, Honey, defies convention and the law and becomes another Book Woman, riding into the mountains to deliver books in a raw and harsh landscape. Despite the injustice and danger, a sense of homespun coziness and safety prevail, created by the hard work, love, and solidarity of mountain women. For fans of The Giver of Stars and The Last Ballad.”—Jill Minor, Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, VA
Chef's Kiss by TJ Alexander
Library Collection: Print
“A cute, romantic tale of Simone, a test kitchen chef for an elite magazine. Her stable life is upended by Ray, the charming and friendly new kitchen manager. When Ray comes out as nonbinary, there is pushback from administration. Can Simone and Ray forge a relationship, and survive the fraught environment? For fans of The Charm Offensive and Red, White, and Royal Blue.”—Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH
The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas
Library Collection: Print / LP
Libby: eBook
“In this slow-burn Gothic novel, Beatriz joins her new rich husband at his family’s dilapidating estate, where she dreams of a better life. But the rumors of her husband’s first wife’s death and unsettling supernatural incidents have Beatriz fearing for her own life. Her only hope of survival is a witchy priest. For fans of Mexican Gothic and the film Crimson Peak.”—Kari Bingham-Guiterrez, Olathe Public Library, Olathe, KS
Hide by Kiersten White
Library Collection: Print
“The premise: fourteen strangers are invited to compete in a game. The setting: an abandoned theme park. The goal: remain hidden for 7 days. The payoff: $50,000. As the contestants are found by ‘seekers,' and the group gets smaller, it becomes a wild, blood-pumping ride. Soon, the line between competition and survival begins to blur. For fans of Survive the Night and The Final Girls Support Group.”—Lindsey Colon, Charleston County Public Library, Charleston, SC
The Murder of Mr. Wickham by Claudia Gray
Library Collection: Print
“This delightful cozy mystery features characters from Jane Austen and introduces sleuths Jonathan Darcy (son of Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam) and Juliet Tilney (daughter of Catherine and Henry). Jonathan and Juliet are well-matched as amateur investigators and, of course, as potential romantic partners. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Barron and Anna Dean.”—Amy Norton, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Cameron arrives in Solo Bay looking for his long-lost parents. Tova, who works at the local aquarium, lost her own son years ago. After Cameron takes over Tova’s job, Marcellus the octopus sees that the two are linked. Told in alternating voice (including that of Marcellus), this is a witty read for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Reading List.”—Mary Robinson, Vernon Area Public Library, Lincolnshire, IL
The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle by Matt Cain
Library Collection: Print
“This quietly touching novel follows Albert, a closeted gay mail carrier who’s lived life as a perpetual outsider. His job provides comfort, but impending retirement leaves him at a crossroads: can he find a way to go on and be accepted for who he really is? Cain takes readers on a moving and hopeful journey. For fans of The Guncle and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. ”—Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
Siren Queen by Nghi Vo
Library Collection: Print
Libby: Audiobook
“Luli Wei is a rising star in the golden age of Hollywood, when the business is full of literal horrors and she must earn her fame by playing monsters. Vo’s weaving of magical elements into an otherwise realistic story is arresting in the best way, and Luli is a strong and determined character. Highly recommended for fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Alix E. Harrow.”—Kristine Magers, Metropolitan Library System, Oklahoma City, OK
This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straub
Library Collection: Print / Large Print / CD Audiobook
Libby: Audiobook
“On the day before Alice turns 40, her father is near death. She then wakes the next day to find that it’s her 16th birthday and her dad is young and healthy. Is there anything she’d change about the past, now that she has the chance? A poignant look at the paths we choose in life. For fans of Fredrick Backman and Rebecca Serle.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Library, Austin, TX
Adult Assembly Required by Abbi Waxman
Library Collection: Print
“Laura Costello, a recent transplant to L.A.’s Larchmont Village, is still recovering from the emotional and physical trauma of a car accident. With the help of some new friends and the return of beloved characters like Nina Hill and hilarious little Claire, Laura slowly finds herself and her voice.”—Jaime Bink, Harford County Library, Belcamp, MD
Book Lovers by Emily Henry
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Nora loves her big city and her literary agent job, but agrees to go on a trip to a small town to improve her relationship with her sister. Enter Charlie Lastra, a book editor from this quaint little town. This is a romance about family and finally putting yourself first. For fans of The Worst Best Man and The Love Hypothesis.”—Brenna Timm, High Plains Public Library, Greeley, CO
By the Book by Jasmine Guillory
Library Collection: Print
“An enjoyable Beauty and the Beast inspired tale! Editorial assistant Isabelle has to handle a ‘cancelled' celebrity, Beau Towers, and moves into his mansion to help him with his memoir. Isabelle is likeable, and her relationship with Beau, though contentious at first, grows in a believably sweet way.”—Jill Rupp, Sun Prairie Public Library, Sun Prairie, WI
The Lioness by Chris Bohjalian
Library Collection: Print / CD Audiobook
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Set in 1964, a Hollywood starlet treats a select group of friends to a life changing experience on a safari in the Serengeti. It’s a wonderful experience until they are all kidnapped. Another good page turner from Chris Bohjalian that leaves readers mesmerized and horrified. For fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and A Touch of Stardust.”—Eileen Acosta, Cornwall Public Library, Cornwall, NY
Something Wilder by Christina Lauren
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Lily and Leo had a once-in-a-lifetime kind of love, but then Leo disappears. Ten years later, they are brought back together when Leo's on a boy's trip at Lily's cowboy retreat, but suddenly a misstep finds the group seeking a buried treasure. Crazy plot-twists and betrayals guarantee a fresh, readable romance.”—Taylor Banze, St. Charles City-County Library, O’Fallon, MO
The Wedding Dress Sewing Circle by Jennifer Ryan
Library Collection: Print
“When fashion designer Cressida Westcott loses everything during the London Blitz, she returns to the family manor house and joins the village sewing circle. Soon the vicar's daughter needs a wedding dress despite clothing rations. The pleasurable plot focuses on overcoming adversity through friendship, with plenty of romance.”—Sarah Siegel, Rockville Centre Public Library, Rockville Centre, NY
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *