June LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
hoopla: eBook / Audiobook
“Freddie is at the Boston Public Library when a murder occurs. While waiting for the police, she strikes up a conversation with others at her table. The four become friends, but could one of them be the murderer? Much misdirection and an unreliable narrator make for a tight little thriller that will have you sure you know whodunnit until you don't. For fans of The Body in the Library, Magpie Murders, and The Hunting Party.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
The Dead Romantics by Ashley Poston
Library Collection: Print
“What would you do if your editor demands that you deliver a finished romance novel tomorrow, but you think romance is dead? And what if he turns up as a ghost on your doorstep the next day? An unputdownable romance that is also about family and death, reconciliation and creativity, stress and the supernatural. For fans of The Love Hypothesis and Go Hex Yourself.”—Rebecca Whalon, Lakeland Public Library, Lakeland, FL
Flying Solo by Linda Holmes
Library Collection: Print
“Laurie faces a crossroads. She has just canceled a seemingly perfect wedding and flown across the country to deal with a beloved aunt's estate. Among her aunt’s things, she finds a wooden duck decoy that sends her on a journey to discover its origins, and in the process, herself. A terrific follow up to Evvie Drake Starts Over and great for fans of The Two Lives of Lydia Bird.”—ERon Block, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Parma, OH
Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting by Clare Pooley
Library Collection: Print
“Iona is a bold woman of a certain age who navigates life without hesitation. When she breaks one of her rules, and speaks with her fellow train passengers, it leads to all sorts of wonderful connections. Iona strives to fix the lives of others, never suspecting that she might be the one in need of friendship, support, and advice. For fans of Oona Out of Order and Anxious People.”—Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY
The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Journalist Kat befriends con artist Meg in hopes of exposing her in revenge for a past wrong. As they get close, the shifting points of view reveal layers of deception between two masterful manipulators. For fans of fast-paced thrillers in the vein of Mary Kubica and Jessica Knoll.”—Sonia Reppe, Stickney-Forest View Public Library District, Stickney, IL
The Measure by Nikki Erlick
Library Collection: Print
“Imagine receiving a mysterious string that tells you exactly how long you’ll live. Now imagine everyone in the world getting their own string. This is the type of book that changes your thoughts on life and lingers for a long time. Perfect for book clubs who loved The Immortalists and The Age of Miracles.”—Karen Troutman, Walton Tipton Township Library, Walton IN
Nora Goes off Script by Annabel Monaghan
Library Collection: Print
“Nora Hamilton is a TV writer who pens a script based on her disaster of a broken marriage. Next thing she knows, a film crew arrives at her country home with two famous actors in tow. What follows is one of the funniest, heartbreaking-ist and most endearing stories you will read. For fans of Jasmine Guillory and Emily Henry.”—Stephanie Piro, Rochester Public Library, Rochester, NH
Tracy Flick Can't Win by Tom Perrotta
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
“Tracy Flick is back and better than ever. Or, at least, she WOULD be if she could just nab that job as high school principal. With wry commentary on the education scene and the politics of “having it all,” this sequel to Election will entrance Gen X readers and a whole new generation, too. For fans of Gary Shteyngart and Curtis Sittenfeld.”—Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, KS
The Hotel Nantucket by Elin Hilderbrand
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“The renovated Hotel Nantucket is haunted and Lizbet Keaton and staff must improve the hotel’s reputation. This book has everything: sumptuously described food, a charming heroine, and a character-driven story. There is enough mystery that makes you guess and the story moves at a pleasant pace.”—Jessica Olson, Westport Public Library, Westport, CT
The House Across the Lake by Riley Sager
Library Collection: Print
“An alcoholic starlet's husband dies at the family lake house. She returns and meets her new neighbors: a famous model, who almost drowned in the lake, and her rich techie husband. But do they have as great a marriage as it seems? To say anymore would be giving too much of the fun away. A must- read thriller for those who liked Getaway and The Return.”—Blair Bartley, Grand Prairie Public Library, Grand Prairie, TX
The Locked Room by Elly Griffiths
Library Collection: Print
“A new neighbor moves in next door to Ruth Galloway, while Nelson and his team investigate a string of suicides that may be murders. However, England goes into COVID lockdowns. This book integrates the pandemic in a way that is both familiar and terrible. There is less archaeology than in Griffith’s other books, but it doesn't suffer for it. Highly recommended for mystery lovers.”—Amy Gray, Avon Lake Public Library, Avon Lake, OH
Wicked Beauty by Katee Robert
Library Collection: Print
hoopla: eBook / Audiobook
“In this spicy, triad-romance set in modern-day Olympus, warriors battle for the coveted role of Ares in a gladiator style competition. Will Helen, Achilles, and Patroclus be able to put their feelings aside to defeat the competition and each other? For fans of Greek mythology retellings and enemies to lovers.”—Kari Bingham-Gutierrez, Olathe Public Library, Olathe, KS
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *