September LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O'Farrell
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
In 16th-century Italy, teen Lucrezia de Medici passes from her father's control to her husband's, with neither considering her a person with a right to her own life. O'Farrell's poetic writing pulls you into this tale based on the likely subject of Robert Browning's poem “My Last Duchess.” For fans of Geraldine Brooks, Isabel Allende, and Hillary Mantel.”—Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR
The American Roommate Experiment by Elena Armas
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“The follow-up to The Spanish Love Deception has all the makings of a great rom-com: a good slow burn, forced proximity, a mix of steamy and funny scenes, and two leads that are easy to root for. Recommend to anyone in need of a delightful contemporary romance in the vein of The Bride Test and Get a Life, Chloe Brown.”—Danielle Willett, Grace A. Dow Memorial Library, Midland, MI
Bindle Punk Bruja by Desideria Mesa
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Luna is both a daughter of Mexican immigrants trying to establish herself in the 1920s Kansas City underworld and a bruja, an earth witch who can read emotions and bend others to her will. Complex character relationships enhance this entertaining historical fantasy. For fans of The Chosen and the Beautiful and The Gods of Jade and Shadow.”—Gwen Inman, Anne Arundel County Public Library, Annapolis, MD
The Bullet That Missed by Richard Osman
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
Libby: eBook
“The Thursday Murder Club crack open the decade-old death of a journalist who was hot on the trail of a fraud scheme when she was murdered. Another hilarious mystery featuring the quirky (but highly effective) quartet and all their friends. For fans of Julia Chapman and SJ Bennett.”—Sarah Walker, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN
Ghost Eaters by Clay McLeod Chapman
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Chapman puts a new spin on ghost stories with a tale of a drug that allows people to be ‘haunted’ by dead loved ones. Featuring a strong subplot about the roots of colonization, this excellent horror novel examines being addicted to grief and the lengths some go to hang onto those they love. For fans of Paul Tremblay and Grady Hendrix.”—Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Public Library, Corona, NY
The Kiss Curse by Erin Sterling
Library Collection: Print
“Gwyn owns the Graves Glen's witchcraft shop, and life is good until Wells Penhallow comes back to create havoc at the school and in town. Sterling is very good at the love/hate relationship with a great pinch of wit, and the spell is cast for a fun romcom.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Library, Austin, TX
A Merry Little Meet Cute by Julie Murphy and Sierra Simone
Library Collection: Print
“Christmas movie star Bee is forbidden to disclose she is also an adult film star. Co-star Nolan is trying to prove he can be a responsible actor. Sparks fly, they cannot keep their hands off each other. Murphy's diverse characterizations paired with Simone's off-the-charts sexy scenes makes for a romantic and steamy happily-ever-after, brimming with sex and body positivity.”—Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, VA
People Person by Candice Carty-Williams
Library Collection: Print
“Dimple Pennington might have accidentally killed her ex and reaches out to her four half-siblings —all raised by their mothers and sharing a neglectful father—in a panic. They learn the kind of family they can be as they deal with the fallout and their abandonment issues in this dark comedy.”—Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA
Spells for Forgetting by Adrienne Young
Library Collection: Print
“Another stunner by Young! When August Salt, the love of Emery Blackwood’s life, returns to clear his name after being accused of killing Lily Morgan fourteen years ago, dark secrets arise in Saiorse Island. The prose flows like the magical elements throughout.”—Suzy Card, Grapevine Library, Grapevine, TX
The Ways We Hide by Kristina McMorris
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
hoopla: eBook
“When World War II starts, Fenna Vos is recruited by MI9 to use her skills to make escape aids. Based on true events about one woman's journey, this is a thrilling look at a little known part of the war effort, with well developed characters and terrifying adventures.”—Melanie Liechty, Morgan Library, Morgan, UT
Back to the Garden by Laurie R. King
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“King’s latest, featuring neuro-divergent police detective Raquel Laing, blends together evocative stories of the robber baron era of the American West, a counterculture commune in the 1970s, a present day mystery involving bones discovered beneath a massive statue, and the tale of a dying serial killer. An exciting departure from a consummate storyteller.”—Patricia Uttaro, Rochester Public Library, Rochester, NY
Drunk on Love by Jasmine Guillory
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“Margot is stressed out from running her family’s winery. Luke is burned out by his hi-tech job in Silicon Valley. So both are happy to enjoy what they believe to be a perfect one-night stand. However, the next day is awkward when Margot finds out Luke is the winery’s new hire. This sparkling romance will give readers a taste of the world of winemaking in Napa Valley.”—Ann-Marie Braithwaite, New York Public Library, New York, NY
Killers of a Certain Age by Deanna Raybourn
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Celebrating their retirement with a luxury cruise after four decades working for the same organization, four assassins discover they are now targets. This page turner offers the unique thrill of seeing women in their 60s as intelligent action heroes who can outmaneuver top assassins from an organization possessing limitless resources. For fans of What Rose Forgot and the Thursday Murder Club series.”—Di Herald, Mesa County Libraries, Grand Junction, CO
Lucy by the Sea by Elizabeth Strout
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook / Audiobook
“In March 2020, the pandemic forces Lucy Barton to move from Manhattan to a small town in Maine with her ex-husband William. Once she gets over the shock of this unexpected uprooting, Lucy reconnects with William as they navigate this period of isolation and fear together. While those familiar with Lucy from previous books will enjoy seeing her mature, this story also stands alone for new readers.”—Nancy Eggert, Chicago Public Library, Chicago, IL
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.