February 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
Published: 2/5/2019 by Celadon Books
“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”—Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray
Published: 2/19/2019 by Berkley
“A beautifully written novel told from the viewpoints of three sisters whose dysfunctional childhood has left deep wounds. Family also serves as a source of strength as the women face the damage done and try to heal. For readers who enjoy Tayari Jones and Jessmyn Ward.”—Janine Walsh, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

Daughter of Moloka’i by Alan Brennert
Published: 2/19/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
“Fans of Moloka’i and new readers will adore this interesting, heartfelt sequel. Taken from her parents as an infant, Ruth is adopted by a loving family who experiences more than their fair share of upheaval and heartache balanced with love and joy. Readers of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko may enjoy.”—Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

Finding Dorothy: A Novel by Elizabeth Letts
Published: 2/12/2019 by Ballantine Books
“In examining the meeting between Judy Garland and Maud Baum, Letts weaves two narratives: Hollywood in 1938-39, and Baum’s childhood and marriage to L. Frank Baum, author of the book that inspired the movie. A fascinating behind-the-scenes story for Oz fans.”—Lauren McLaughlin, Wilton Library Association, Wilton, CT

The Girls at 17 Swann Street: A Novel by Yara Zgheib
Published: 2/5/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
“A mesmerizing glimpse inside a rehab program for victims of anorexia. This fictional account of one young woman’s life-saving journey is eye-opening with its descriptions and statistics. For readers who enjoy fiction about social and psychological issues, and books by Wally Lamb and Chris Bohjalian.”—Marilyn Sieb, L.D. Fargo Library, Lake Mills, WI

Good Riddance by Elinor Lipman
Published: 2/5/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
“An annotated yearbook is an interesting plot device, and Lipman populates it with likable characters that you can’t help but root for and with “villains” so ridiculous that you can’t help but laugh at them. Perfectly paced, engagingly written, and fun. For fans of Adriana Trigiani.”—Lorri Steinbacher, Ridgewood Public Library, Ridgewood, NJ

The Huntress: A Novel by Kate Quinn
Published: 2/26/2019 by William Morrow Paperbacks
“This is a novel I can happily recommend to patrons who like historical fiction. It excels in both plotting and character development. Nina Markova, a bomber pilot stranded behind enemy lines, becomes the target of a Nazi assassin. For fans of Jackdaws by Ken Follett and Up In Honey’s Room by Elmore Leonard.”—Maria Gruener, Watertown Regional Library, Watertown, SD

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos by Lucy Knisley
Published: 2/26/2019 by First Second
“This wonderful graphic novel is also the most honest, comprehensive, revealing, and helpful book on pregnancy, miscarriages, birth, breastfeeding, and everything in between that has ever been written. I wish I had had this book as I was leveled with morning sickness for nine months.”—Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

The Last Romantics: A Novel by Tara Conklin
Published: 2/5/2019 by William Morrow
“A fresh look at family dynamics, this is the story of four siblings and their love for one another spanning their entire lives. For fans of The Nest by Cynthia D’aprix Sweeny and The Past by Tessa Hadley.”—Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon
Published: 2/26/2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing
“Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil…. this book has it all. The best new fantasy I’ve read in years. I eagerly await the next installment. For fans of Naomi Novik.”—Alexa Newman, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL

The Lost Man by Jane Harper
Published: 2/5/2019 by Flatiron Books
“When rancher Cameron Bright is found dead in the unforgiving Australian Outback, his older brother Nathan, a social pariah, is left to uncover family secrets and ferret out the mystery of Cameron’s demise. Harper’s tense standalone will captivate her fans and leave them eager for more.”—Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

I Owe You One: A Novel by Sophie Kinsella
Published: 2/5/2019 by The Dial Press
“Kinsella is back with a sweet, thoughtful book about family loyalty and breaking out on your own. Fixie Farr is trying to keep her family’s store afloat while her siblings plot expensive plans to modernize. Meanwhile, Fixie is juggling two interested suitors. For readers who love Meg Cabot and Marian Keyes.”—Kathryn Neal, Skiatook Library, Skiatook, OK

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.