Monthly Archives February 2019

A New Catalog

In March, the public libraries in Westchester County will be moving to a new catalog system. For you, this means an improved interface with better—and easier—search capabilities, greater control over your notifications, and better access to what’s available through the library. Library staff members are getting an open source system, which means the libraries have more control over how the system works. Going forward, we’ll be able to customize the catalog for what works best for Westchester. But migrating to a new catalog won’t happen overnight. To facilitate the process, the catalog will be offline from March 11 to March
Read More

Categories: Director's Corner, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, Library News, and Teens.

March 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing Published: 3/26/2019 by Berkley “An incredible, dark, twisty psychological thriller with two of the most seemingly normal but disturbingly depraved people you will read about in fiction. This brilliant debut needs to be at the top of your must-read list. For readers who like taut suspense and works by Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica.”—Rachel Reeves, Weatherford Public Library, Weatherford, TX Beautiful Bad by Annie
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

Best Audiobooks of 2018

Every year, through the Listen List Council of the American Library Association, librarians create the Listen List, selected for both avid listeners of audiobooks and those new to the pleasures of the fastest-growing format in publishing. This juried list of twelve newly-released titles features extraordinary narrators and listening experiences. This past year jury members listened to 2,574 hours as they narrowed the field to 58 nominated audiobooks and selected winners that include fiction, nonfiction, memoir, and poetry, each an outstanding performance in terms of voice, accents, pitch, tone, inflection, rhythm and pace. Here’s the 12 that made the final cut:
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

Reserve Best Picture Nominees

Interested in watching some of the films nominated for a Best Picture Academy Award this year? Just click on the DVD covers or titles below to easily request Bohemian Rhapsody, BlacKkKlansman, Green Book, and more. And don't forget to tune in to the 91st Academy Awards this Sunday, February 24th.   Bohemian Rhapsody (2018) A chronicle of Freddie Mercury and the band Queen during the years leading up to their appearance at the 1985 Live Aid concert. The Favourite (2018) Early 18th century England is at war with the French. A frail Queen Anne (Olivia Colman) occupies the throne and
Read More

Categories: eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

Museum Passes: Family Edition

We’ve having a break in the weather, so why not head off to a museum? Highlighted here are some of the Library’s museum passes that families will enjoy. The Children’s Museum of Manhattan, located on West 83 Street, has way too much going on to describe here (Dynamic H2O; Art, Artists & You; Let’s Dance). Best of all, the museum provides plenty of opportunities for hands-on learning and activities. Visit their website for the full lineup. Trains, buses and ferries are universally fascinating, and the New York City Transit Museum has plenty on display. Check out the exhibit Ticket to
Read More

Categories: Director's Corner, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Board Meeting Documents for February 13th, 2019

Approved Library Board Regular Meeting Minutes – 02-13-19 Approved Library Board Annual Meeting Minutes – 02-13-19 Combined Agenda-02-13-19 02-13-19 Library Board Agenda Agenda Item #1 – 01-09-19 Regular Library Board Minutes Agenda Item #2 – Budget Report – January 2019 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 12 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 13 Agenda Item #4 – Adult Services Report – January 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Assistant Directors Report – January 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Collection Management Report – January 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Community Outreach Report – January 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Library Systems
Read More

Categories: Trustee Documents.

February 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides Published: 2/5/2019 by Celadon Books “Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”—Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

Planned Giving

The White Plains Library Foundation is dedicated to the long term success of the Library and that’s why we hope you’ll provide instructions in your will for a planned gift. Making plans for a future gift creates a legacy for generations to come and helps ensure the Library stays open, responsive and accessible to everyone. Around the country, libraries endure through planned gifts that help them adapt to changing community needs, technological innovations and uncertain economic cycles that can affect government funding. Bequests are the simplest and most common form of planned gift. Residuary bequests are popular because the amount
Read More

Categories: Featured, Library Foundation, and Library News.