June 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published in June that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold.

Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel by Linda Holmes
Published: 6/25/2019 by Ballantine Books
“Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.”—Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin
Published: 6/4/2019 by Berkley
“Ayesha puts aside dreams of poetry and works in Toronto as a teacher to repay debts to her family. A deep-rooted family trauma ties Khalid to his controlling mother and gives him a rigid understanding of the world. Can these two young Muslims forge a healing path? A sweet modern romance perfect for readers of The Wedding Date and The Kiss Quotient.”—Ariel Yang, Forest Grove City Library, Forest Grove, OR

Call Your Daughter Home: A Novel by Deb Spera
Published: 6/11/2019 by Park Row
“Three strong women support each other through tough times in 1924 South Carolina. Gertrude, Retta, and Annie unite against injustice in their small town in this beautifully written story in which time and place come to life. For readers who enjoyed The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Invention of Wings.”—Suzy Card, Grapevine Library, Grapevine, TX

City of Girls: A Novel by Elizabeth Gilbert
Published: 6/4/2019 by Riverhead
“Free-spirited Vivian recounts her life, focusing on her formative years in the 1940s. Nineteen and new to NYC, she became the costumer for her aunt’s struggling theater company. Colorful characters, misadventures, triumphs, and trials populate this fun, frolicking read. For fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.”—Sonia Reppe, Stickney-Forest View Public Library, Stickney, IL

Fix Her Up: A Novel by Tessa Bailey
Published: 6/11/2019 by Avon
“After her brother’s best friend (and her longtime crush) Travis is injured, Georgie makes it her goal to bring him back to the land of the living. When he needs help cleaning up his wild image, she is happy to help…and maybe score some action on the side. A funny, endearing, and spicy romance. For readers of Christina Lauren.”—Jessica Batten, Marion County Public Library System, WV

Magic for Liars: A Novel by Sarah Gailey
Published: 6/4/2019 by Tor Books
“A blend of fantasy and murder mystery. Magic meets noir, throw in some romance and some witty dialog and you have a great pick for summer reading. For fans of Jasper Fforde and the Charley Davidson novels.”—Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga Public Library, Cuyahoga, OH

Mrs. Everything: A Novel by Jennifer Weiner
Published: 6/11/2019 by Atria Books
“A sweeping story about sisters Jo and Bethie, following them from their 1950s roots in Detroit to the present day. This novel is both heartwrenching and funny, and readers will cry and laugh with them along the journey. For fans of Juliet McDaniel’s Mr. and Mrs. American Pie.“—Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twisnburg, OH

Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim
Published: 6/11/2019 by Berkley
“Natalie inherits her grandmother’s restaurant in quickly-gentrifying Chinatown in San Francisco. A tea leaf reading tells Natalie she must cook three recipes from her Grandmother’s cookbook for her neighbors who are being pushed out in order for the restaurant to succeed. For fans of The Recipe Club: A Tale of Food and Friendship and Like Water for Chocolate.”—Meghan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Scranton, NY

Recursion: A Novel by Blake Crouch
Published: 6/11/2019 by Crown
“Compelling and accessible to the non-science-fiction reader. It is a suspenseful, thought-provoking book about altered memories, and how technology can be used for good, or for ill, or should never be used at all. For fans of Michael Crichton.”—Will Harbauer, Toledo Library, Toledo, OH

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *