August LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love.

Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood
Library Collection: Print
“Bee’s worked hard to get her big break leading a NASA project. However, she learns that she’ll be working with Levi, an old acquaintance who detests her. Or does he? Hazelwood’s done it again with another fantastic romance filled with the real-world struggles of being a woman in STEM. For fans of Helen Hoang and Christina Lauren.”—Brenna Timm, High Plains Library District, Greeley, CO
Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: an Arcane History of the Oxford Translators Revolution by R. F. Kuang
Library Collection: Print
“What power do words really have? Kuang explores this question in a unique standalone fantasy where a magical system drawn from translation and silverwork fuels colonialism. With beautiful writing and well- developed characters, this is a fabulous book. For readers of Katherine Addison, Zen Cho, and N.K. Jemisin.”—Danielle Deaver, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Bethesda, MD
The Couple at Number 9 by Claire Douglas
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
Libby: eBook
“Pregnant Saffy and her partner Tom are thrilled when her ailing grandmother gives them a cottage to make their home–until they find two bodies buried on the property. Featuring multiple points of view and realistic characters, the latest twisty thriller from Douglas will appeal to fans of taut page-turners like The Turn of the Key and The Guest List.”—Amy Medeiros, Westport Free Public Library, Westport, MA
Daisy Darker by Alice Feeney
Library Collection: Print
“Darker isn’t just Daisy’s surname: it’s the mood of this closed-room mystery as Daisy’s family members die one by one at a remote island home. Deftly told, this nod to Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None mixes suspense and secrets with heartbreaking and poignant observations about family and childhood.”—Jennifer Ohzourk, West Des Moines Public Library, West Des Moines, IA
The Hookup Plan by Farrah Rochon
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Dedicated pediatric surgeon London looks to de-stress through a no-strings-attached hookup with her former high school nemesis (and current millionaire) Drew. But Drew wants more than a one-night stand. London jumps off the page with her vibrant personality, and it’s fun to see a man pursuing a woman in an enemies to lovers tale. For fans of Abby Jimenez and Talia Hibbert.”—Hannah Spratt, New York Public Library, New York, NY
Husband Material by Alexis Hall
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
hoopla: eBook / Audiobook
“Luc has grown up and feels the pressure to get married. Oliver is still a devoted boyfriend, but his problems are now acknowledged. It's great to see character development even in minor characters, and how they've progressed in the two years since Boyfriend Material.”—Claire Sherman, Clearwater Countryside Library, Clearwater, FL
The Last Housewife by Ashley Winstead
Library Collection: Print
“When yet another of her college roommates turns up dead, Shay investigates with the help of her BFF true crime podcaster. Will Shay find answers in her past, which includes a misogynistic sex cult, or will she be lured back in? Psychological thriller fans, take this to the beach! For fans of I’ll Be You or This Might Hurt.”—Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD
Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen
Library Collection: Print
“To keep a connection to her late mother, Zoey moves into her old apartment on Mallow Island, S.C. The complex and its residents are characters, too. This book is a quick and sweet read about the stages of love from the tickle of a spark to the longing its absence can bring.”—Sara Schettler, Scottsdale Public Library, Scottsdale, AZ
Shutter by Ramona Emerson
Library Collection: Print
Libby: eBook
“Rita Todacheene, a crime scene photographer for the Albuquerque PD, can communicate with the dead. Her latest job involves a woman who allegedly killed herself…but she won't leave Rita alone. A cinematic thriller set on the edge of the Navajo Nation, Emerson's debut is a must-read.”—Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, KS
The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna
Library Collection: Print
“Mika is one of the few witches secretly living in Britain when someone reaches out for help teaching three young witches. She becomes entangled in the lives of her pupils and the household, including the handsome yet grouchy librarian Jaime. A cozy romance for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea.”—Danielle Geiger, Brentwood Public Library, Brentwood, TN
Carrie Soto is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Library Collection: Print / Large Print
“With fierce determination, Carrie Soto comes out of retirement to claim her title as the GOAT of tennis. Will she also use this opportunity to repair relationships with her father/coach and the other players on the tour? Jenkins Reid is at the top of her game with another winning page-turner.”—Stacy Lienemann, Waseca-Le Sueur Regional Library System, Waseca, MN
Sophie Go's Lonely Hearts Club by Roselle Lim
Library Collection: Print
“Sophie Go can see red threads extending from everyone’s heart—threads that show how ready a person is for love. Despite her mom’s disapproval, Sophie aspires to use her gift to become Toronto’s premier matchmaker. When she corrals a group of elderly Chinese men in her apartment building as potential clients, she has the chance to realize her dream and break free from her overbearing mother.”—Maureen Rothenberg, Clayton County Public Libraries, Jonesboro, GA
Stay Awake by Megan Goldin
Library Collection: Print
“Liv wakes up in a cab she doesn’t recall boarding and is dropped off without her purse or phone. She dumps a bloody knife wrapped in a t-shirt and sees on her hand the message, ‘Stay Awake.' Liv realizes she is the prime suspect for a murder. What’s more, trauma from two years ago causes her to lose short-term memories every time she falls asleep. This thriller may cause readers to lose sleep so they can find out who is the true killer!”—Debbie DeLouise, Hicksville Public Library, Hicksville, NY
Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, and Library News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.