Monthly Archives August 2022

Beautiful Bilingual Books, Part 3

The Library has recently purchased a lovely collection of bilingual Spanish/English books. To celebrate reading in two languages, we will be featuring our beautiful new books in a 3-part blog series – so enjoy practicing your Spanish and English skills with these board books, picture books and nonfiction titles! La Biblioteca ha adquirido recientemente una colección de hermosos libros bilingües en inglés/español. Para celebrar leyendo en dos idiomas, estaremos presentando nuestros lindos libros en 3 partes. Así que disfrute practicando sus destrezas en ambos idiomas con estos libros en carpeta dura, ilustrados y no-ficción. Board Books / Carpeta Dura With
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Español, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Autumn StoryWalk: Full of Fall

The Trove’s First 2022 Autumn Storywalk: Full of Fall by April Pulley Sayre Thursday, September 1st – Wednesday, November 30th, 2022 September will be here soon and we are starting our fall with an autumn StoryWalk. Take a stroll on the Library Plaza and along your way enjoy the book, Full of Fall written by April Pulley Sayre. Full of Fall is a visually stunning picture book that captures the essence of Fall. Readers will learn that when the September sun is low in the sky it is time to say goodbye to summer. In the next few pages, we
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Events, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Lunchtime Meditation

Our popular Lunchtime Meditation series returns to Zoom this September. This wellness program includes brief beginning instruction followed by meditation. No experience is needed. A variety of guest instructors will lead the program from 12:00–12:45 p.m. on the following Wednesdays: September 7th: Seth Segall September 14th: Sharon Lewis September 21st: Dan Cayer September 28th: Andrea Deierlein October 5th: Seth Segall October 12th: Sharon Lewis October 19th: Sharon Lewis October 26th: Andrea Deierlein November 2nd: Seth Segall November 9th: Sharon Lewis November 16th: Andrea Deierlein December 7th: Seth Segall This program is made possible with support from the White Plains Library
Read More

Categories: Events, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Back to School

It's time to start gearing up for the Back to School season. Here are some books to get kids excited for the new school year! Isabel and her Colores go to school, by Alexandra Alessandri. Library Catalog / Libby / hoopla Ollie’s school day: a yes-and-no book, by Stephanie Calmenson. Library Catalog / Libby Biscuit goes to school, by Alyssa Satin Capucilli. Library Catalog / Libby / hoopla Bizcocho va a la escuela, by Alyssa Satin Capucilli. (SPANISH) Library Catalog / Libby We want to go to school!: the fight for disability rights, by Maryann Cocca-Leffler & Janine Leffler. Library
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Women’s Equality Day

On August 26th, 1920, U.S. Secretary of State Bainbridge Colby certified the 19th Amendment and that date became known as “Women’s Equality Day.” The National Constitution Center’s article, Why is August 26 Known As Women's Equality Day? writes, “In 1971, Representative Bella Abzug championed a bill in the U.S. Congress to designate August 26 as ‘Women’s Equality Day.’ The bill says that ‘the President is authorized and requested to issue a proclamation annually in commemoration of that day in 1920, on which the women of America were first given the right to vote.’” Unfortunately, women’s equality and voting rights are
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

Consumer Reports

This year, as we're all painfully aware, prices have surged on just about everything — gas, groceries, rent, and more. To help you deal with the scourge of inflation, there's a free (to White Plains Library cardholders), trustworthy, and reliable source that we can all turn to: Consumer Reports (CR). CR, an independent nonprofit based in Yonkers with millions of members, is on a mission to inform and empower consumers. For more than eighty years, they've tested and reviewed countless products and services while accepting no advertising dollars. Want to find a car that costs less at the pump? See
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Grab & Go Kits for Grades 7-12: Sharpie Tie Dye

Teens in grades 7-12 can pick up a kit with project supplies at the Library, then follow along with the instructions below to make the project. Or, you can find the materials around your home and follow the instructions to make the project. Kits are first come, first served, and will become available on Monday, August 15th in the Library lobby. This month's craft is Sharpie tie dye. The kit includes cotton cloth napkins, a few Sharpies, a jar of isopropyl alcohol, and a few eye droppers. You'll need a well-ventilated space (perhaps outdoors) and you might want to use
Read More

Categories: Library News.

Common Ground 2022-2023

What is Common Ground? Five years ago, the White Plains League of Women Voters, the White Plains Public Library, and the YWCA collaborated to support a community conversation. Living in a community is different from supporting a community so Common Ground emerged as a place to discuss national and local issues from a local perspective. All members of the community are invited to participate as this is place to listen to each other and to learn about our community. Common Ground will meet in person this year on the third Thursday of the month from 6:00-8:00 p.m. at the Library.
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Book Discussion, Events, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Music and Puppets with Jumpin’ Jamie

Friday, 2:00 p.m.: 8/12 Children, Families. Library Plaza / Rain Location: Library Auditorium. Join “Kindie Rock” musician Jumpin' Jamie and a cast of puppet friends for singing, dancing, and an “ocean adventure”! Jumpin' Jamie has performed thousands of shows for audiences as varied as birthday parties for 12 people to stadiums for 12,000. Jumpin' Jamie's debut album “Kookie” was released in 2018 and features appearances from members of They Might Be Giants, the late Peter Tork, and over 40 other guests. It features the song “Ghost In My House” which has been ranked by Yahoo, TimeOut NY, Good House Keeping,
Read More

Categories: Library News.

August LibraryReads

Here are the books published this month that librarians across the country love. Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood Library Collection: Print “Bee’s worked hard to get her big break leading a NASA project. However, she learns that she’ll be working with Levi, an old acquaintance who detests her. Or does he? Hazelwood’s done it again with another fantastic romance filled with the real-world struggles of being a woman in STEM. For fans of Helen Hoang and Christina Lauren.”—Brenna Timm, High Plains Library District, Greeley, COBabel: Or the Necessity of Violence: an Arcane History of the Oxford Translators Revolution
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, and Library News.

American Artist Appreciation Month

August is American Artist Appreciation Month. It is never too early to learn about art, creativity, and expression. Discover activities you can do with your family at home or visit a museum such as The Met. During the month of August you can also treat yourself to a biography of Mary Cassatt or Faith Ringold and learn about their passion, influences, and styles of expression. Readers can learn about the Harlem Renaissance which helped African American artists get recognition for their contributions in the art world.  An Artist’s America by Michael Albert Library Collection: Print (Grades 4-6th) Michael Albert combined
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

New in the Edge: August 2022

From great new books to favorite classic reads, the Edge is here to share the exciting world of young adult literature. It is with great pleasure that I get to shed light on some of the latest titles in the Edge. Come discover some of the latest and greatest YA fiction titles coming to our shelves this month.–Alain Laforest Baby Teeth by Meg Grehan Grades 10 and up Library Catalog “Immy has been in love before, but her relationships always end—because she's a vampire. She's had many lovers, and she remembers them all. Sometimes these memories are a curse: every
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Featured, Homepage Teens, Library News, and Teens.

Pirates Lost at Sea! – 8/4, 2pm (PreK-Gr.5)

Talewise presents Pirates Lost at Sea! Thursday, 2:00 p.m.: 8/4 Children, families. Library Plaza / Rain Location: Library Auditorium. Ahoy there, mateys! Set sail on swashbuckling and hilarious STEM-filled piratical adventure about a crew of quirky pirates marooned on a desert island. With mutiny and high-tide looming, they must rescue their salty captain and find a way to repair their ship before all hope is lost … at sea! Throughout the story, explore the incredible science behind clouds, physical and chemical changes, air pressure, and more! Volunteers from the audience will help conduct several hands-on science experiments that ‘ARRR’ sure
Read More

Categories: Library News.