Monthly Archives October 2019

Spring Gala with Erik Larson

Save the Date! The White Plains Library Foundation’s 25th Anniversary Gala is March 14, 2020 with special guest Erik Larson, bestselling author of Dead Wake, In the Garden of Beasts, Isaac’s Storm, The Devil in the White City, and soon to be published, The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family and Defiance During the Blitz – book included with your ticket, hot off the press. Details about the Gala to follow in January. Sign-up for the Library's newsletter so you'll know when it's time to RSVP. According to Random House, “On Winston Churchill’s first day as prime minister,
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Events, Evergreen, Featured, Homepage, Library Foundation, and Library News.

New Service: Acorn TV

Just in time for the cold weather, we’re launching a new streaming service: Acorn TV. Acorn is best known for their TV and film offerings from the United Kingdom, but they also host content from Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Spain. You’ll find cozy mystery series like Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, the droll Doc Martin, the hard-boiled London Kills, the classic Vera, and the popular Midsomer Murders, among others. Twenty-five degrees and three inches of snow? No problem. Just provide a couch, a dog or cat (or both), a pot of tea, plenty of flannel, and binge to your
Read More

Categories: Director's Corner, eNewsletter, Evergreen, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

September 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published in September that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. Red at the Bone: A Novel by Jacqueline Woodson Published: 9/17/2019 by Riverhead Books “A rich, multigenerational weaving of two families, starting at Melody’s coming-of-age party. She wears the dress her mother didn’t get to wear because she was pregnant with Melody at the time. Alternating narration moves forward and backward in time, reflecting on family, desire, identity, and parenthood. For fans of Jesmyn Ward and Brit Bennett.”—Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries,
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Tech Wednesday for Adults

Austin Olney leads Tech Wednesdays for Adults at 12:00 p.m. each Wednesday. Tech Wednesday is a weekly, hour-long meetup for adults who wish to learn about various digital technologies. Whether it is app design or Virtual Reality, beginners can explore a wealth of different topics relating to the modern digital revolution. Each week, a particular branch of computer technology is presented in the form of a quick workshop to give patrons knowledge about new technical trends and possibilities. Registration for each session is required; to register, visit our online calendar (you can click on each topic below) or call us
Read More

Categories: eNewsletter, Events, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Wellness Programs

This popular series is back with additional dates and times! Starting on September 11th, we will continue offering programs to help you relax, restore, and recalibrate. Make this a fall of self care with informative and experiential programs covering stress management, medical cannabis, sound meditation, and more. Sign up for one or all. Click on the name of the program to register. Evening Programs, 7:00-8:30 p.m. November 6: Posture & Equanimity Nancy Kardon will help you find movement ease and balance with postural alignment. Explore how to sit tall and stand—and quiet your mind. November 13: Mindfulness in the Digital
Read More

Categories: eNewsletter, Events, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.

Board Meeting Documents for October 16th, 2019

Combined Agenda-10-16-19 10-16-19 Library Board Agenda Agenda Item #1 – 09-11-19 Regular Library Board Minutes Agenda Item #2 – Budget Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 4 Agenda Item #3 – Claim List 5 Agenda Item #4 – Adult Services Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Assistant Directors Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Collection Management Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Community Outreach Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Library Systems Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #4 – Media Report – September 2019 Agenda Item #4
Read More

Categories: Trustee Documents.

What Should I Read Next?

This post as expired and the event has passed. Visit our adult calendar here for a current list of book related events or subscribe to our eNewsletter here to find out when Carol Fitzgerald will return. Get a heads-up on new books and refresh your reading list for the colder weather with publishing insider Carol Fitzgerald on Sunday October 20th at 1:30 p.m. Back by popular demand, Carol will share news about the season’s buzz-worthy titles and facilitate a discussion of book group practices, successes, and failures. Carol Fitzgerald is the President of The Book Report Network—a group of internet
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Book Discussion, Director's Corner, eNewsletter, and Library News.

Teen Film Series: One Book, One Movie

This post has expired. Please visit the teen calendar for the latest Edge events. Teens can extend their One Book, One White Plains reading experience by coming together to watch a film with related themes to Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng. Join in a meaningful discussion afterwards. Light refreshments will be served. The films will be shown at 5:30 p.m. on Thursdays in the Edge. Film schedule: October 3 – The Perks of Being a Wallflower October 10 – The Blind Side October 17 – The Sun is Also a Star October 24 – A Dog's Journey
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Events, and Library News.

Book Club: The Future is Female

One of our newest book groups returns this month. The Future is Female, a mix of memoirs, short stories, novels, and poetry by and about interesting, talented, and inspiring women in history, the arts, sports, and everyday life. Led by Ellen O’Connell, the group will meet on the first Monday of every month, from 2:00-3:30 p.m. To place one of the readings on hold, simply click on the title. October 7: Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng (2014) a Novel — As part of the One Book, One White Plains program. “A moving exploration of family, history, and
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Book Discussion, eNewsletter, Events, Featured, Homepage, and Library News.