Archives for Authors & Books

Meet George Guidall

Join us on Sunday, April 7 at 2:00 p.m. for The Art & Artifice of Audiobook Narration with three-time Audie Award Winner, George Guidall. His recordings have been delighting listeners for over 20 years and the New York Times called him the “undisputed king of audiobooks.” The event is free but registration is required. Click here to RSVP. If you’re new to borrowing digital audiobooks, arrive early, any time after 1:00 p.m., and Library staff will get you set up. It’s easy – all you need is your device and library card number, or visit our website for instructions.
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Events, Featured, and Library Foundation.

March 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing Published: 3/26/2019 by Berkley “An incredible, dark, twisty psychological thriller with two of the most seemingly normal but disturbingly depraved people you will read about in fiction. This brilliant debut needs to be at the top of your must-read list. For readers who like taut suspense and works by Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica.”—Rachel Reeves, Weatherford Public Library, Weatherford, TX Beautiful Bad by Annie
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

Best Audiobooks of 2018

Every year, through the Listen List Council of the American Library Association, librarians create the Listen List, selected for both avid listeners of audiobooks and those new to the pleasures of the fastest-growing format in publishing. This juried list of twelve newly-released titles features extraordinary narrators and listening experiences. This past year jury members listened to 2,574 hours as they narrowed the field to 58 nominated audiobooks and selected winners that include fiction, nonfiction, memoir, and poetry, each an outstanding performance in terms of voice, accents, pitch, tone, inflection, rhythm and pace. Here’s the 12 that made the final cut:
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

February 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides Published: 2/5/2019 by Celadon Books “Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”—Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

Essential Cookbooks

This is the time of the year when librarians create lists of the best or recommended books of the year—from best picture book for children to best audiobook books for adults. And we’ll be highlighting many of these over the next few weeks. But here’s something completely new: a list of the essential cookbooks, suitable for both avid chefs as well as those just learning the rewards of making a meal. This was the first time the American Library Association ever created a list of recommended cookbooks, and I was happy to serve on the committee. And while it sounds
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Evergreen, Featured, and Library News.

2019 Children’s Book Awards

Every January the American Library Association grants awards to a variety of talented authors and illustrators that highlight the year’s many excellent works created for children and youth with their Coretta Scott King Awards, (John) Newbery, and (Randolph) Caldecott Medals. Last week we highlighted past winners, this week we share this year's winners below. If you'd like to place a hold on one of the titles, simply click on the title or book cover. 2019 Caldecott Medal Winner Hello Lighthouse, illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall, published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc. Masterful
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage Kids, and Kids.

Award-Winning Children’s Books

Every January the American Library Association grants awards to a variety of talented authors and illustrators that highlight the year’s many excellent works created for children and youth with their Coretta Scott King Awards, and their (Pura) Belpre, (John) Newbery, and (Randolph) Caldecott Medals. This year announcements of the winners will take place on Monday, January 28th, 2019. In celebration of these honored books, the Trove has four displays showcasing a sampling of the superlative works created for children that have won these prestigious awards and medals in past years. 2019 marks the 50th anniversary of the Coretta Scott King
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, Homepage Kids, Kids, and Library News.

January 2019 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. Once Upon a River: A Novel by Diane Setterfield Published: 12/4/2018 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books “A wonderfully dark and mysterious read. Something happens one stormy winter solstice evening that triggers a chain of events that changes the lives of all the main characters. Moody and mystical. For readers who love gothic fiction like The Death of Mrs. Westaway and The Clockmaker’s Daughter.”—Melanie Liechty, Logan Library, Logan, UT An Anonymous Girl by Greer
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, and Library News.

2019 Resolutions: Books & Tips

This is the time of year when we focus on improving the quality of our lives. We know the benefits of healthy eating and exercise, but why beat yourself up at the start of a new year with another diet you won't commit to? This year, start off with some self care, mindful approaches to a healthy routine, and take some time to appreciate a good book or a local museum. Keep reading for a few book recommendations and tips to begin a new journey to a better year and a better you. Slow: Simple Living for a Frantic World
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Featured, and Library News.

Best Books of 2018 Poll

Here are the top ten books published this year that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. When you're done reading the list, make sure to vote for your favorite! We'll be sharing the results in one of our upcoming newsletters. Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover Published: 2/20/2018 by Random House “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her relationships with siblings,
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Director's Corner, eNewsletter, and Featured.

Thanksgiving Cookbooks

Looking for a pie recipe to impress your in-laws? Or tasty options for your vegetarian and gluten-free guests? Then look no further. We've got five great picks just in time for you to plan your menu. Ottolenghi Simple by Yotam Ottolenghi “There's more than one way to get a meal on the table,” writes chef Yotam Ottolenghi in the foreward of his latest cookbook. He delivers 130 flavorful dishes that can be served in 30 minutes or less. Best of Thanksgiving: Recipes and Inspiration for a Festive Holiday Meal by Williams-Sonoma Both traditional and non-traditional recipes for everyone at your
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, eNewsletter, Evergreen, and Library News.

November 2018 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel by Oyinkan Braithwaite Published: 11/20/2018 by Doubleday “Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.”—Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ The Adults: A Novel
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and eNewsletter.

October 2018 LibraryReads

Here are the top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love. Just click on a title or book cover to place it on hold. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory Published: 10/30/2018 by Berkley Jove “A disastrous public wedding proposal results in a chance meeting between Nik and Carlos. What follows is a delightfully humorous and sweet story about two people falling for each other while remaining seemingly unaware of their blossoming romance. The book sets itself apart by portraying a self-aware, feminist woman who enjoys positive relationships with female friends. An engaging and upbeat multicultural romance.”
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and eNewsletter.

Spy Books Old and New

Looking for a good spy novel or nonfiction read? Look no further than the curated list below. Just click the title to put a copy on hold. The Billion Dollar Spy: A True Story of Cold War Espionage and Betrayal by David E. Hoffman (2015) Dead drops. Secret meetings. Suicide pens. Fact that reads as thrilling as fiction about Russian engineer Tolkachev who daringly passed critical military secrets to the CIA case officers in Moscow in the early days of the Cold War, eluding the KGB just blocks away. For a while at least… Defectors by Joseph Kanon (2017) Not
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books.

Battle of the Books in the Edge

All tweens and teens entering grades 6-10 in September 2016 are invited to join The Edge team for the Battle of the Books competition! Teams from libraries throughout Westchester will compete by answering trivia questions based on five different books. Participants will read the pre-selected books over the summer, attend team meetings in the fall, and compete (as a team) in the Westchester Library System Battle of the Books tournament. The tournament takes place on Saturday, October 15, at Ossining High School. Team practice will be held on Wednesday afternoons at 4:30 p.m. in the Edge Media Lab, beginning on August
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books, Events, and Teens.

Featured Collections: Elie Wiesel

Sometimes we must interfere.  When human lives are endangered, when human dignity is in jeopardy, national borders and sensitivities become irrelevant.  Whenever men or women are persecuted because of their race, religion, or political views, that place must — at that moment — become the center of the universe.  –Elie Wiesel A survivor of Auschwitz and Buchenwald, Elie Wiesel was a professor, political activist, Nobel Laureate, and champion of human rights. Books Night by Elie Wiesel Dawn by Elie Wiesel The Accident by Elie Wiesel Open Heart by Elie Wiesel After the Darkness by Elie Wiesel Hostage by Elie Wiesel
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books.

Exercise Your Mind – READ! A new Adult Summer Reading Program

Join us for our new Adult Summer Reading Program, “Exercise Your Mind – READ!” from from July 5 – August 12. We've tailored this program for grownups– no assigned reading, no book reports, no homework, no worries! Register for Exercise Your Mind and read whatever you'd like, whenever you'd like, wherever you'd like. Whether you're headed to the beach, the mountains, or your own backyard, take along a book and snap a “shelfie.”  Share it with us and we'll add it to our in-library display and our Instagram page to enter our raffle drawing for prizes. Engage in fun programs
Read More

Categories: Authors & Books and Events.